Martin Luther King Jr. Lapbook

January 17, 2007 at 10:28 am (Uncategorized)

Every year I try to do some type of study with the kids on Martin Luther King Jr.  It varies from year to year what we do.  I usually read the I Have a Dream speech aloud.  We have watched videos, read stories, written reports, etc.  This year we did a lapbook.  The kids made this one together. This is the 1st time we have done this successfully!  The key was that we made all the little booklets first and then assembled it later.  This was a very simple one, comprised of worksheet I printed off the internet.

Cover:

We have a drawing of MLK Jr. along with quotes from his I Have a Dream speech.  On the bottom is a brief description of his life.

Folder #1:

Here we have a mini book my 5 year old put together.  A Vocabulary booklet made by my 12 year old son.  and a little booklet by my 5 year old telling one thing she learned about MLK Jr.  On the right side we have a pocket for additional worksheets and coloring sheets.  (Even the 3 year old contributed a coloring sheet for this one!)  the 2 booklets on the right are Martin and Me and a Q&A sheet my 5 year old filled out. 

Vocabulary Words:
Boycott
Segregate
Discrimination
Peace
Civil Rights
Protest
Speech
Non- violence

My daughter wrote:
I learned that he is very famous.  He tried to make all people be treated the same.

Martin & Me
This was a worksheet we found that compared your life with MLK Jr. 

It included:
Date of Birth
Place of Birth
Brothers and Sisters
Activities Enjoyed
Father’s Occupation
Mother’s Occupation
Goal in Life

Folder #2
In this one we have an Acrostic Poem for Dr. King.  A picture my 12 year old drew of MLK Jr giving his famous I Have a Dream speech. and 2 clouds with info on the kids dreams.

Acrostic Poem:

Didn’t give up.
Really had a dream
Killed on April 4th, 1968
I Have a Dream was his most famous speech.
Non-violent
Gave his life to try and stop racism.

Here are the sources we used for the printables in this lapbook:

http://www.enchantedlearning.com/history/us/MLK/

http://homeschooling.about.com/b/a/216290.htm

http://www.gpschools.org/ci/ce/elem/holidays/mlkk5.htm

http://www.teach-nology.com/worksheets/misc/mlk/

1 Comment

  1. Martha said,

    Thanks! I really needed some ideas on teaching this and this got me excited!

Leave a Reply

