The Awning

January 27, 2007 at 11:12 pm (Uncategorized)

This may be the craziest sewing project I have ever taken on….

3 years ago when we moved into this house the awning had a rip in it.  You really couldn’t see it unless the wind was blowing.  But, when the wind would blow it would make a terrible noise that sounded like a HUGE monster outside my 2 youngest children’s bedroom window.  I have checked in to having a new one made and they wanted $300.00!!!  (It seems that everything cost $300.00 when I get an estimate!  LOL)  So I kept wondering…Could I make one???? Well, now that we are getting ready to put the house on the market I decided to give it a try.  I tore the old one apart and cut a pattern.  This was about the easiest thing I have ever sewn!  I spent $12.00 on the awning fabric.  (I had a 40% off coupon!)  We also spent $6.00 on new screws..  So for $18.00 we have a new awning! I think it looks fine, and I am my own worst critic!  The only hard part was getting it off the house and then back on the house  But that was my husbands problem!

Here is our other project of the day.

Our front window was broken so the boys took it out and replaced it.  It seems that home repair has been a HUGE part of our homeschooling lately!  Our 12 & 5  year olds have learned a whole lot in the last few months!  They have helped dad re-seal floors, sand cabinets, replace counter tops, build furniture, replace windows, etc.  This is one of the things I love best about homeschooling!  Life lessons are something you just cannot learn from books and it is just impossible to put a price on there value!

The 3 year old has been a huge help too of course!  LOL  It never hurts to have a cute little entertainer around!

(And yes, I realize in these picture you cannot tell the window is broken….Weird, it really was broken!)
3 Comments

  1. Happyhome said,

    Great job! You are quite the seamstress. There is a possibility we might be moving as well. The thing we are struggling with is how much to do to put the house on the market. Do we do all those things we had always planned on doing, or just the obvious? What do you think?

    Guess we watch a bit too much HGTV! BTW, your 3 yr old is adorable!

    Angela

  2. bearsmom said,

    It is kind of fun fixing up a house, isn't it? That's is what we have been working on too. God bless you all in your hard work and togetherness.

  3. Canadagirl said,

    Yes we too are having a house homeschool year too ! I think it has been the neatest project yet for our homeschool. I loved hearing about your awning savings, too cool ! Thank you for visiting. I have been so focused on purging and packing that my blog needs some TLC. (0=
    <br>God Bless <><
    <br>In HIm,
    <br>-Mary

Leave a Reply

