Dog Clipping

February 6, 2007 at 10:17 am (Uncategorized)

Today I got lessons on how to cut the dogs hair.  Here he is after his haircut. 

We got our dog a few months after we moved into this house 3 years ago.  Our next door neighbors got our dogs sister from the same litter.  Ever since he has been big enough to need haircuts our neighbor has done them.  My husband and I tried to cut him once and we made a complete mess out of it!  LOL  So, since we are moving I decided to go next door and get some lessons.  Here is what I learned:

1.  Cut the dog while his fur is dirty.  Clean fur is too fine and flies everywhere and end up in your nose!  (This is probably THE biggest mistake we made when we tried it! It was soooo awful breathing in that fur!  YUCK!)

2.  Get the dog up on your level on a table.  I tried cutting him sitting on the bathroom floor.  I was uncomfortable and he kept running away!  LOL  (Not to mention my bathroom was  a mess when we were done!)

3.  Clip a little and let him run a little.  It took quite awhile to cut him, so she gave him little breaks every few minutes.  He was a lot happier than he was when I tried to do it!

4.  Don’t use clippers, just good ole scissors!  I tried to use clippers and they kept getting stuck in his fur.  (He’s a very curly breed.  Bichon Frise.) 

5.  It really takes 2 people.  Especially for the tummy area.  You meed one person to hold the dog up and the other to cut.

6.  Be patient, it is a long process!  (This will be the hardest part for me!  LOL)

Anyway, I am glad I got a few tips and got to watch her trim him.  I can’t imagine paying the $40.00 the groomer wants when it has to be done every 8 weeks or so.  I mean I could be spending that money on more books!  LOL

1 Comment

  1. Diane said,

    YaY! He came out so cute. Good job.

Leave a Reply

