Me at 42!

February 21, 2007 at 11:49 am (Uncategorized)

Today is the 21st anniversary of my 21st birthday! 

I am 42!

Here are 42 things about me on my 42nd birthday.

1.  I was born during a snowstorm…My parents barely made it to the hospital!  The doctor came to the hospital on snowshoes!

2.  I have 1 sibling…A sister who is older than me.

3.  The house we lived in when I was young was painted a bright turquoise color.  I cannot imagine anyone painting a house that color now.  But in the 1960s it was way trendy!

4.  It always seemed to snow on my birthday when I was growing up.  One year we had a blizzard and my birthday happened to be on a Sunday.  We ALWAYS went to Grandma’s on Sunday after church.  Somehow I convinced y parents to go to Grandma’s.  A week later we came home!  It was my best birthday ever!

5.  I DID not want to go to school when it was time to start Kindergarten.  I tortured my Mother by pretending to be sick and crying everyday!  She finally took me to the Doctor, who ran a lot of test and decided I was fine and just did not like school!   I think that is when I first decided i would homeschool my children.

6.  I remember my Mother’s 25th birthday!  I was 4.

7.  I had my 1st child at 29.

8.  I had my 2nd child at 36.

9  I had my final child at 39.

10.  My husband and I had not yet been married a year when I was 25!

11.  I was born in Kansas.

12.  I moved to Los Angeles when I was 22.  I LOVE LA!  I would still be there…But, we chose for me to be a stay at home mom and that is very difficult to afford in Los Angeles. 

13.  I worked at ABC Television from 1987 – 1994.  I loved working there.  I met some great people and had sooooooo much fun.  I quit when my 1st child was born.  During my time there I worked in Payroll, Personnel, Production Operations and Engineering & Broadcast Operations & Engineering.  Some of the shows I worked on were…Good Morning American,  The Home Show & America’s Funniest Videos.

14.  My husband and I got to go the Academy Awards one year. 

15.  My husband and I were married in 1989 in Las Vegas.

16. In 2004 we renewed our vows on our 15th Anniversary in Las Vegas.

17.  I do not like sports of any kind!

18.  My 1st job was at Target.  That is where I met my husband.

19.  I learned to sew when I was 8 years old.

20.  I nursed my 3 children for a combined total of 6 1/2 years.

21.  My 2 youngest children were born at home. 

22.  All my babies were BIG.  My 1st was 5 weeks early and weighed 7 pounds 13 ounces.  My 2nd was born on her due date and weighed 9 pounds 6 ounces.  My 3rd was 6 days late and weighed…..drum roll please…11 pounds 8 ounces!

23.  I have lived in 14 houses in my 42 years….And we are packing to move AGAIN!!!!  (That is an average of 3 years per house!)  I really don’t like moving, but somehow I keep doing it!

24.  I have lived in 3 States in my 42 years…And will be living in my 4th State soon!

25.  I decided to homeschool my kids when I was 18 and had just graduated from high school.  I heard a report on the news about homeschool and I was hooked!

26.  When I first  mentioned homeschooling to my husband he thought I was CRAZY!

27.  There have been days when I was homeschooling that I have thought I am crazy!  LOL  Just kidding!

28.  I like to iron. 

29.  I went to Interior Design College. 

30.  On my 30th Birthday I had a Tea Party with 2 of my best girlfriends.

31.  IKEA is my favorite store.

32.  I have 13 nieces and nephews.

33.  My husband and I will celebrate our 18th Anniversary this April.

34.  My favorite type of food is Thai.

35.  We eat a lot more Pizza than Thai food!  LOL

36.  I don’t like to cook.  (Don’t worry, I cook everyday! I just don’t like it!  LOL)

37.  I really don’t like to bake.  It stresses me out! 

38.  My favorite thing at Starbucks is a Chai Tea Latte.

39.  My favorite movie is Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dream Coat.  I love to turn it up loud and dance around the house singing to it with the kids!

40.  I laugh when I am stressed.

41.  My favorite perfume is Calyx.  It is the only perfume I ever wear since most scents bother me.  I wear it only on special occasions.

42.  The kids and I are baking a Carrot Cake for my birthday!  (It is from a box, so it will not stress me too bad!  LOL) 

Happy Birthday to me!!!!

What could make turning 42 more fun than sporting a pair of
Strawberry Shortcake glasses?

8 Comments

  1. Cindy said,

    Happy Birthday!!

    This year I too celebrated the 21st anniversary of my 21st birthday (I love that!!)

    Have a great day!!

  2. KimMurphy said,

    Hey Jamin! 2 weeks ago I celebrated MY 4th annual 39th birthday as well! So as your elder, I will say, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!
    Now about that baby….11 pounds 8 oz! YIKES!!!
    Thanks for all the sharing – I loved reading it all! Someday I hope to go to an IKEA store…it's a life goal!

  3. Anonymous said,

    My birthday is tomorrow… I might have to try a list like yours. I loved reading your list!!! Some of them made me laugh! Happy Birthday to you!!!
    Dana
    http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  4. SeekingJESUSnTeachingKIDS said,

    HAPPY BIRHTDAY!! That was a cute idea to list 42 things about yourself:)
    :>Michelle

  5. Canadagirl said,

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY SSiC ( sweet sister in Christ ) !!!!
    I loved your idea about telling something about yourself for every year old you are. Too cool. I will try to remember that on my birthday….July 4th ( for real. lol)

    PS: I LOVE the Strawberry Shortcake glasses ((giggles))
    God Bless
    In Him,
    -Mary

  6. momofneb said,

    Happy Birthday!!!!

  7. Happyhome said,

    Happy birthday to you!

    Angela

  8. trophyofgrace said,

    Jamin,

    Blessings to you on your Birthday. Some of our experiences have been quite similar though timing is different. Love the lapboooking too…we are so new to it…we tried notebooking but that was preintenet times (for us) and it just didn't work out…

    The list of 42 things was really neat.

    Love the glasses!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

