My Daddy Prays for Me

February 24, 2007 at 2:07 am (Uncategorized)

Steve over at Walden’s Wits posted this poem.  It blessed me so much I wanted to share it here also.

My Daddy Prays for Me

When Daddy prays the house gets still
His voice is slow and deep
We shut our eyes, the clock ticks loud
So quiet we must keep.

When Daddy prays he doesn’t use
The words the preacher does.
He prays for lots of different things,
But mostly it’s for us.

His prayers get awful log sometimes
And hard to understand.
So I just wiggle up quite close
And let him hold my hand.

I can’t remember all of it;
I’m little yet, you see.
But there’s one thing I can’t forget:
My daddy prays for me.

Author Unknown


Whenever my husband is away from home I try to call him every night so he can say prayers with the kids.  Sometimes I get tired of doing it and and just want to pop them in bed and forget about the phone call.  This poem really drove home to me how important those nightly prayers with Dad can be! Not to mention how lucky I am that I have a husband who prays with our kids!

Thanks Steve!

Leave a Reply

