My Fellow Americans…

March 2, 2007 at 11:00 pm (Uncategorized)

Today my family had the privilege of seeing 102 people from 35 different Countries become American citizens! Here are my 12 year old sons thought on the day.

Today I went and saw my neighbor from across the street, who was born in France, become an American citizen. First he had to take a test to prove he knew a bunch about the U.S.A then when he passed the test he had to wait until today.  Today he and 101 other people who all passed the test went to a building and there was a ceremony where they gave all the 102 people an American flag. Then a bunch of people talked then they pledged allegiance to the flag of the United States of America (well, everyone did actually.) Then someone sang the national anthem.  After that they all stood up and raised their right hand and the judge said “Do you swear to renounce all former ties to and Princes, Governments, Etc. And to become a citizen of the United States of America?” or something like that and all 102 people said “I do.” Then more people talked and they showed a video of the President saying “I am proud to call you my fellow American…”  Then they played the song “I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free, and I’m proud of all the men who died to give that right to me, and I proudly stand up, next to them…” during the song they played a video of America. More people talked and then the Judge spoke for about 20 minutes and then they handed every one of those 102 people a certificate that said that they were now American citizens.

Seeing this ceremony made me realize what an honor and just how great it is to be an American.  For the first time I realized that I really am proud to be an American, and it was so amazing, this morning my neighbor lived here. This was his home. Now, this isn’t just his home, this is his country!

Like one of the speakers said:

America is not just a country, but a family.

For the first time I just felt so proud of my freedom. I can’t even explain it, and I can’t even imagine what my neighbor must feel like right now.

I learned also that if your cell phone rings in the court, it’s a $1,000 fine and if you lose your papers that prove you’re a citizen, it can be up to a $200,000 fine!

But most of all I realized that America is so great, I can’t even explain it but seeing my neighbor have this place not just be his home, but his country, it was amazing.

Oath of Naturalized Citizens

I hereby declare, on oath, that I absolutely and entirely renounce and abjure all allegiance and fidelity to any foreign prince, potentate, state, or sovereignty of whom or which I have heretofore been a subject or citizen;

That I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the United States of America against all enemies, foreign and domestic;

That I will bear true faith and allegiance to the same;

And that I take this obligation freely without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion;

So help me God.

3 Comments

  1. callmekate said,

    What an awesome event to witness! Your son did a fine job relating what he saw and learned. It sure made an impact on him, the importance and seriousness of what these new Americans did. He'll never forget this experience, especially since he sees his neighbor often. I think I'll have my 11 y.o. son read your post, if you don't mind, he'll enjoy it. Thanks for your nice comments on my post. I've made you a friend, as well. Have a great weekend!

    Kate

  2. skdenfeld said,

    What an amazing experience, that so few people actually have. Your son was very clear in what he wrote. May I ask how this opportunity came about?

  3. Anonymous said,

    What an amazing experience for you son! And, I enjoyed his report about it!
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

