Now I'm a Dog Chef?

April 12, 2007 at 12:01 pm (Uncategorized)

I cannot believe I am doing this!  But, our dog has completely given up eating dog food!  Maybe he read about the pet food recalls?  (You know homeschooled dogs are very smart!  LOL)  To be quite honest he never much cared for dog food.  He only used it to fill up when he couldn’t steal enough food from the kids to keep him happy.  But the last few weeks he has given it up completely.  This week I can tell the poor thing has been hungry.  He has increased his tactics to get people food to include things that are just down right RUDE!  (Like taking food right out of our hands while we are eating! ) The other day he jumped on the table and knocked my daughters bowl of Rice Crispies on the floor while she was eating it and began happily lapping up the remains!  YUCK, what a mess that was!

So desperate times call for desperate measures…Did you know there is a whole world of people out there that cook for their animals?  LOL  Really, here are some recipes I found online!

http://www.thepoop.com/pooppantry/

http://media.extremetech.com/index.php

Here is what we made on our 1st attempt!

Meatball Mania

Here is my daughter grating the carrots for the meatballs

Here are the meatballs ready for the oven.


Peanut Butter Balls

Here is my daughter grinding the oats for the peanut butter balls

Here she is getting the peanut butter balls ready for the oven.

Here is the happy recipient!
He must think he’s died and gone to doggie heaven!  LOL (What is this?  Now they are just putting delicious food right on a plate for me on the floor?  Cool!

Other easy items to feed dogs I read about online are:

cooked chicken
scrambled eggs
cottage cheese
rice

Already he seems happier and more peaceful. Yesterday morning I made him scrambled eggs for breakfast and he actually laid down and let the rest of us eat in peace! Then he had a peanut butter ball for lunch.  I will leave the dry food out for him at least until we get the hang of how much food he needs each day.

I can’t believe I am doing this!  I don’t even enjoy cooking for humans!  LOL  Crazy dog!  (He is very luck I love him so much!)

5 Comments

  1. Jimmie said,

    You've got to be kidding!!! Is this serious??!! Gee, I'm amazed! Peanut butter balls? They look good enough for humans to eat! Yum!

  2. Prncsstefy said,

    Wow! You are a much nicer pet owner then me. I can't see myself cooking for a dog. I barely tolerate cooking for the people. LOL

  3. homeschoolingmommaof4 said,

    You are a much better woman than I. I don't think I'd cook for the dog. He seems to be enjoying it though.

  4. briarwren said,

    I'll have to snag that recipe for my furbabies. I've been cooking for them for a long time now. A huge mess of lentils, rice, and veggies is cooked up every day for them. I also throw in whatever scraps I might have such as chicken skin, or two day old steak that no one is going to eat, etc. At least once a week, I also mix in eggs and vitamins. My biggest dog gets a glucosamine and chondroitin in his for his hips. At first I did this to supplement dry dog food since it's so expensive but I had gotten to where I hadn't given any to them for some time when I read about the recall and just threw what I had away. All of my animals are very healthy. At first it does seem like a lot of extra work, but since I consider them like one of my children and they're part of the family, after a while it feels only natural.

  5. briarwren said,

    I'll have to snag that recipe for my furbabies. I've been cooking for them for a long time now. A huge mess of lentils, rice, and veggies is cooked up every day for them. I also throw in whatever scraps I might have such as chicken skin, or two day old steak that no one is going to eat, etc. At least once a week, I also mix in eggs and vitamins. My biggest dog gets a glucosamine and chondroitin in his for his hips. At first I did this to supplement dry dog food since it's so expensive but I had gotten to where I hadn't given any to them for some time when I read about the recall and just threw what I had away. All of my animals are very healthy. At first it does seem like a lot of extra work, but since I consider them like one of my children and they're part of the family, after a while it feels only natural.

Leave a Reply

