Sun Protection Swimsuits

April 15, 2007 at 12:01 pm (Uncategorized)

Last Summer we bought a sun protection shirt for my oldest son to wear while swimming.  He takes an herb that makes him more sensitive to the sun & he inherited the genes of his red headed Mother!!!  Let’s say we need all the sun protection we can get!  LOL

Here is his shirt he got last year along with the new swimsuit he got last night at The Children’s Place

That’s right, we are now ready for swimsuit season!  Hoooray!!!!   It is rare for me to go shopping anywhere other than thrift stores.  When I do it is usually at The Children’s Place.  There are a couple reasons I like The Children’s Place

a.  The prices are reasonable. (And the sales prices are GREAT!)

b.  The quality is good.

c.  I can buy for all 3 kids in one place!!!  (Although this is soon ending since my 12 year old is in the largest size they carry now.  Sigh…) 

As soon as we got the SPF shirt for my oldest son last Summer I wished we had them for the other 2 kiddos.  Not having to smear sunSCREAM (as we call it!  LOL)  all over their torsos is a HUGE help!  Let’s just say they are all ticklish and the whole sunscreen thing turns in to a huge laugh & tickle fest! (I still have to do legs, arms and faces, but it is a lot less smearing on my part & giggling and screaming on their parts!  LOL) 

So here is the swimwear I got for my 3 year old son.

And for my 6 year old daughter….

I am the most excited about my daughters SPF shirt because not only will it protect my little red head from the sun, but it promotes modesty too.  I am flabbergasted with the swimwear I see on little girls!!! Actually, the bikini top of this swim suit will never see the sun on my daughter, but I liked the coverage of the little short style bottoms and the top came with it.  I really like her having a 2 piece since it makes trip to the bathroom MUCH easier!  But, my thinking is that if I let her wear a bikini now what is she going to want to wear when she is a teenager? 

So that is my 2 cents on swimwear.  I had never seen these swim tops until last Summer when we went to a pool party at a friends house in California.  So I thought I would spread the word here in case anyone else needs extra sun protection like my kids do.

BTW, another place that carries a lot of the SFP Swimwear in Land’s End.  They are a little more expensive, but they have a really good selection.

Happy Swimming!!!!

1 Comment

  1. skdenfeld said,

    I love what you have done with the place ; )

Leave a Reply

