More Than a Math Tutor…

April 17, 2007 at 10:42 am (Uncategorized)

I walked into the schoolroom today an this is what I saw. 

My 12 year old was voluntarily helping his 6 year old sister with her Math.  (She has just started place value and has not quite grasped it on her own yet.)  For some reason my mind immediately zoomed back about 7 years ago when I was pregnant with my daughter.  My then 6 1/2 year old only child and I were at a function at church and a lady I had never met before came up and started talking to me.  She asked when the baby was due and how many other children I had.  We chit chatted about babies a bit and then much to my surprise she said "What a shame your children are so far apart.  They will never have anything in common!"   I must admit I was taken aback, but then she went on to tell me about her own kids who were 7 years apart.  "My oldest was already in school when the baby came along.  He had his own world outside of our home and he never really bonded with his little sister."  I mumbled something about hopefully things would be different for us since we homeschool and moved on to talk to someone else.  In reality I felt she had made a great argument for homeschooling!

I love homeschooling for a lot of reasons and the relationship between my children is a major factor.  I am thrilled that  I can find my kids enjoying the company of each on a regular basis.  I am glad that our family has unlimited time to spend together, even if it is doing Math!

(And just on case you are wondering…Yes, they sometimes fight like cats and dogs too!  LOL) 

My nutty boy!  LOL
1 Comment

  1. writmm said,

    My two stepsons were public schooled. They were only 2 years apart and 90 percent of the time they didn't get along. The older was always bossing the younger, they fought a lot, and life was difficult around here. I have a friend whose two children attend school, they are only a couple of years apart, but they fight a good bit of the time too.

    Now, I won't say mine never fight, but they help each other out and they play with each other for hours and if I go to town with one, that one says…I wish the other would come too. I am so glad they get along as well as they do.

    Great pics:)

Leave a Reply

