Pharoah, Pharoah

May 5, 2007 at 10:59 am (Uncategorized)

All this talk about Egypt reminded me about this…

At the church we went to in California all the kids use to sing this song called Pharaoh, Pharaoh, which is sung to the tune of Louie, Louie.  Here are the lyrics:

Pharaoh, Pharaoh

by Tony Sbrana:

Pharaoh Pharaoh, Oh baby, Let my people go! (yeah, yeah, yeah . . .
Pharaoh Pharaoh, Oh baby, Let my people go!)

Well, the burning bush told me just the other day
That I should come over here and say
Got to get my people out of Pharaoh’s hand
And lead them on over to the promised land.

Pharaoh Pharaoh, Oh baby, Let my people go! (yeah, yeah, yeah . . .
Pharaoh Pharaoh, Oh baby, Let my people go!)

Well, all of God’s people came to the Red Sea
With Pharaoh’s army coming after me
I raised my rod, stuck it in the sand
And all of God’s people walked across dry land.

Pharaoh Pharaoh, Oh baby, Let my people go! (yeah, yeah, yeah . . .
Pharaoh Pharaoh, Oh baby, Let my people go!)

Well all of Pharaoh’s army was coming too
So what do you think that I did do?
I raised my rod and cleared my throat
And all of Pharaoh’s army did the root beer float!

Pharaoh Pharaoh, O Babe, you shoulda let us go. (yeah, yeah, yeah . . .
Pharaoh Pharaoh, O Babe, you shoulda let us go.)

A few months later we decided to stop,
Moses climbed up on the mountaintop,
So we pitched our tents and set up our cots,
And Moses came back with lots of ‘Thou Shalt Nots’

Pharaoh Pharaoh, O Baby, why’d you let us go?  (no, no, no . . .
Pharaoh Pharaoh, O Baby, why’d you let us go?)

Forty years later, it’s comin’ to an end;
The promised land was just around the bend.
So Moses climbed up on the mountainside,
And after he saw it, ol’ Moses died.

I say Pharaoh, Pharaoh, Oh baby
Let my people go! Huh
Yeah yeah yeah… (2x)

 

My kids love this song and after Googling it I learned a lot more about it.  HERE is the story of this fun little song that apparently has a life of it’s own! 

I just found this song on CD and ordered it for the kids.  They are going to be sooooo happy!

Pharaoh Pharaoh, Oh baby…………………….

1 Comment

  1. mommyof3girlies said,

    Hi totally remember that song….we went to family camp a couple of times and that song was the first time we had heard it, It definately is a catchy tune!
    juliet

Leave a Reply

