Garland & Octopi

May 26, 2007 at 11:53 pm (Uncategorized)

My daughter and I found another cool knitting loom!  It is called the Clover Wonder Knitter.  This one is the spool size and it self wraps!  You just twist a little disc and it wraps the yarn on the next peg for you.  Wrapping that yarn around is the hardest part for my 6 year old.  Now she can make enough knitted chains to wrap around the world!  LOL 

She is so proud that she can do this all by herself!

I am going to look for some red, green and white variegated yarn.  Then she can start making a whole lot of Christmas Garland for our tree!  That should pass some time this Summer!  LOL

Ad now for the Octopi!  My 3 year old saw the picture of the knitted Octopus on the computer screen and begged me to make him one!  So, I decided to make him one as kind of a prototype so I will know how to tell my daughter to make hers.  Here is what I came up with:

I of course did not follow the pattern I saw online.  I made the 8 legs (Each 9 inches long) on a small loom and then stitched them together.  Then I used the newborn hat size loom to make the head.  I put the legs up inside the head and then stuffed around them with fiberfill and stitched the head to the legs.  Finally, I  crocheted a long chain to make the bow. (The bow covers up were I sewed it all together.) I should have used a double thread to make the head, but I didn’t have enough yarn left.  (I was using scraps.)  So the fiberfill shows through the knitting on the head.  This bothers me, but not my sea life loving son!

This guy loves it!
Kisses!

He has already drug it outside and is carrying it around by the legs.  So I’ll tell you in a week if it has fallen apart!  LOL

Now he wants a boo (blue) one! 

2 Comments

  1. drewsfamilytx said,

    You will make him a boo one, won't you? That is too precious!

  2. Amber said,

    I have to look into that, my DC love to knit, of course I have no idea how to knit.

    God Bless,
    Amber

Leave a Reply

