Education Quotes & My Philosophy

May 28, 2007 at 9:59 am (Uncategorized)

I have been collecting quotes on education for a loooooong time. Recently I have been sifting through my list of quotes and working on putting them together in a way that will explain my educational philosophy……

The number one reason I homeshool my children is because I want to teach my children is to love the Lord Jesus and serve Him.

Train up a child in the way he should go, Even when he is old he will not depart from it. – Proverbs 22:6

Knowledge begins with respect for the Lord, but fools hate wisdom and self control. – Proverbs 1:7

"I am much afraid that schools will prove to be great gates of hell, unless they diligently labor in explaining the Holy Scriptures,engraving them in the hearts of youth. I advise no one to place his child where the Scriptures do not reign paramount. Every institution in which men are not increasingly occupied with the Word of God must become corrupt." – Martin Luther (1483-1546)

Finally, brothers, whatever is true,
whatever is noble, whatever is right,
whatever is pure, whatever is lovely,
whatever is admirable–
if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–
think about such things.
Philippians 4:8

The next most important thing to me is to create kids who think for themselves and think outside the box!

Thank goodness I was never sent to school; it would have rubbed off some of the originality. – Beatrix Potter (1866-1943)

I suppose it is because nearly all children go to school nowadays and have things arranged for them that they seem so forlornly unable to produce their own ideas. – Agatha Christie (1890-1976)

I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious. – Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

I have never let my schooling interfere with my education. – Mark Twain (1835-1910)

The only person who is educated is the one who has learned how to learn… and change. – Carl R. Rogers (1902-1987)

Anyone can memorize facts and figures.
The real way to learn anything is to go experience it and let your curiosity lead you.
Who’s ready to learn?..
.Man in the Big Yellow Hat — Curious George The Movie 2006

Education’s purpose is to replace an empty mind with an open one. – Malcolm S. Forbes (1847-1904)

Life is my college. May I graduate well, and earn some honors! Louisa May Alcott (1832 – 1888)


A School is a building…
Education is wherever we are.
Anonymous

Another thing that is important to me is to teach my children in a way that will making learning a joyful experience!

Education is not the filling of a bucket but the lighting of a fire."   W. B. Yeats (1865-1939)

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. – Confucius (551 BC – 479 BC)

Much education today is monumentally ineffective. All too often we are giving young people cut flowers when we should be teaching them to grow their own plants. –  John W. Gardner (1912-2002)

Developing a great relationship between my kids and myself is also of paramount importance to me!

The secret of education is respecting the pupil. – Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)

Expecting all children the same age to learn from the same materials is like expecting all children the same age to wear the same size clothing. – Madeline Hunter (1916-1994)

With great power, there must also come great responsibility.  – Spiderman (1962)

I never teach my pupils; I only attempt to provide the conditions in which they can learn. – Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

“A student…that is fully trained will be like his teacher.”  Luke 6:40

You can use most any measure when you’re speaking of success. You can measure it in fancy homes, expensive car or dress. But the measure of your real success is one you cannot spend — It’s the way your child describes you when talking to a friend. Martin Buxbaum

I attribute my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education
which I received from my mother.
 

–George Washington 1732-1799

One final goal I have is to grow my children to be lifetime learner’s!

Man’s mind stretched to a new idea never goes back to its original dimensions. – Oliver Wendell Holmes (1809-1894)

The best educated human being is the one who understands most about the life in which he is placed. – Helen Keller  (1880-1968)

The one real goal of education is to leave a person asking questions. – Max Beerhohm

The man who does not read good books has no advantage over the man who cannot read them. – Mark Twain (1835-1910)

One’s work may be finished some day, but one’s education never. – Alexander Dumas (1802-1870)

All men who have turned out worth anything have had the chief hand in their own education. – Walter Scott (1771-1832)

 

Education is what survives when what has been learnt has been forgotten. – B. F. Skinner (1904-1990)

Education is what remains when we have forgotten all that we have been taught.

George Savile, Marquis of Halifax (1633-1695) English statesman and author.


Have regular hours for work and play; make each day both useful and pleasant, and prove that you understand the worth of time by employing it well. Then youth will be delightful, old age will bring few regrets, and life will become a beautiful success. Louisa May Alcott (1832-1888)

Last but not least I want my kids to have a well balanced education so they can go out into the world and impact it for Christ teaching others what they have learned.

And He said to them, "Go into all the world and preach the gospel to all creation."
Mark 16:15

So Jesus was saying to those Jews who had believed Him, "If you continue in My word, then you are truly disciples of Mine; and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free."  John 8:32

Only the educated are free. – Epictetus (55 A.D. – 135 A.D.)

 

10 Comments

  1. SmallWorld said,

    Those are wonderful quotes! Thanks for sharing!

  2. SeekingJESUSnTeachingKIDS said,

    Those are some really great quotes. They really make me think about what I am doing and why. Thank you for sharing.
    :>Michelle

  3. TRINITYPREPSCHOOL said,

    Enjoyed reading some new ones!

  4. Redbud said,

    Love the Martin Buxbaum quote, especially since my inlaws think that a big house on the golf course should have been our goal, not me staying home to give my kids an excellent education.

  5. Anonymous said,

    I collect quotes, too, but you've got some that are new to me. Thanks for sharing!
    Denise
    http://letsplaymath.wordpress.com/

  6. heartofwisdom said,

    thanks for sharing

  7. Anonymous said,

    Especially Einstein's about being curious!

  8. Anonymous said,

    If everyone could "want" to open their minds and truly understand these genius quotes and this universe, realizing that these quotes can lead you to the answer in life which is the still unexplained phenenomon of love.

  9. Learning4Life said,

    Like you, I'm a homeschool mom who has been collecting educational quotes for many years. I finally decided to incorporate them into a book, "Learning for Life: Educational Words of Wisdom." It has 420 pages of nearly 3,000 quotations by more than 1,000 people on teaching, learning, and the pursuit of knowledge. Lots of quotes from famous homeschoolers too! Check it out at http://www.knowledgehouse.info/learningforlife.html and contact me if you'd like a complimentary copy to review on your blog. 😉

  10. Anonymous said,

    Hi – thanks for the great quotes. Here's an add-on…this is my favorite.

    "Many people feel that homeschooling is a radical choice for a family to make, but I do not think so. I think that it is a perfectly natural choice for a family that wants to be Christ-centered. Our commitment to homeschooling stretches us to go beyond our culture's godless and morally bankrupt value system. But we do not live a radical lifestyle because we homeschool; we homeschool because of the radical nature of our faith. It stretches us to be different, to go beyond 'the normal' and live in obedience to God and His Word. For us, homeschooling may be 'different', but it is part of our radical obedience." -Susan Card (from "The Homeschool Journey")

    Summer in Wyoming

Leave a Reply

