Encouraging Creativity

June 4, 2007 at 9:06 pm (Uncategorized)

You have all probably noticed by now that I value creativity!  Well, even though I don’t need an "expert" to tell me I need to allow my kids to be creative, it is nice when one does agree with me!  LOL

Steve Walden has an awesome video over on his blog I would encourage you all to watch.  Here is the link:

http://www.waldenswits.com/2007/05/video-public-schools-do-they-crush.html

I thought this video was so encouraging for homeschool parents.  So many of us are told that we are "messing up" our kids because we are allowing them too much time to explore creativity.  Dance class, drama, free play are all seen as a waste of time by society.  But, what if society is wrong?  What would the world be like without dancers, musicians and poets?  I remember once when my oldest son was very little I mentioned in a conversation that we were planning on homeschooling.  The person I was talking to replied "How is he ever going to grow up and sit in an office and be bored all day if he has all this freedom as a child!"  YIKES, that really scared me!  I mean I don’t care if my kids grow up and work in an office, but I am not going to train them for a future of boredom because I know that is not the only option they will have!

Anyway, I encourage you to click over and view the video.  Make sure to tell Steve thanks for once again encouraging us along our homeschooling journey.

Leave a Reply

