Line Rider

June 5, 2007 at 9:09 pm (Uncategorized)

My 12 year old son and his best friend found this cool thing online called Line Rider.  When I first saw it I thought of the original version of AutoCAD back in the 1980’s. (When I worked at ABC I use to like to walk by and see designers using it to make graphics for commercials and TV shows.)  Except this one not only can you draw cool stuff with lines, but you can get a little man on a sled to ride the lines!  VERY FUN!

This is my sons 1st attempt.

This is his 2nd attempt:

Now, the great thing about this is the guy does not just automatically follow the lines you draw. You have to test out where he is going to land and put lines there for him to continue. Also depending on how you draw the lines you can get him to pick up speed or slow down. You can even make him jump, flip or go backwards!  There is some pretty cool logic, geometry and math skills being used to design these!  You can also add lines that are only for decoration and you can add lines that he will fall through.

This reminds me of the Frigits Magnetic Marble Track we have had on our fridge for years! Maybe stepping on all those marbles on my kitchen floor all these years was for a reason!  For a kid who wants to be a Video Game Designer this is awesome practice!  LOL

HERE is a link to a whole lot more of these cool little videos kids have posted on YouTube.  (Don’t click over unless you have A LOT of spare time on your hands!  LOL)

2 Comments

  1. Maleah said,

    This is so cute. I think even DH will like it. 🙂

  2. DanielleW said,

    We have been playing with this all week. Thanks. My 12 yo BIL loves it. My 6yo ds has made his own, and I too am hooked. (And I'm addicted to making the boys' lines look better. Adding trees, and lines where they are needed)

Leave a Reply

