Webkinz

September 8, 2007 at 10:33 am (Uncategorized)

My daughter with her Webkinz she named Bow.


My 6 year old has discovered a new online world called Webkinz.  How it works is you buy a small stuffed animal called a Webkinz from the store.  (They are sold at most Hallmark Stores for $10.00 to $15.00 and a store locator can be found on the website.)  Then when you get home you enter a special code that is sealed in plastic and that activates your online world.  Once your are in the online world you can play with a virtual version of your toy!  You are given a empty room and 2000 Webkinz dollars to get started.  You can use your money to buy furniture, decorations, clothing, a yard, etc.  You can earn more money by playing games in the Arcade, taking quizzes, etc.

I like this mostly because there is a lot of reading in it and since my daughter LOVES it she is glad to read, read, read!  According to the Parents Area of the website the games and activities also encourage typing skills, spelling, logic, writing, creativity, problem solving, money handling, responsibility and getting along with others.

She likes it because she can cuddle her stuffed Webkinz while she plays and play with it even when she is not online!  She is not the kind of kid who wants to spend hours and hours on the computer.  So checking in on her pet, playing a few games and then going off to play with the real cuddly one is great for her!

9 Comments

  1. kellieann said,

    Someone just gave my 11 year-old dd one for her b'day and she loves it. So apparently the appeal spans the ages….

  2. linny said,

    She looks so precious with her little animal.

  3. jenn4him said,

    My kids love Webkinz. Have you seen the math practice area? I allow it as warm up for math as it is pretty good. My daughter would love to show her room to your daughter, but I don't know how to do that. What do we need to do?
    Jenn

  4. Anonymous said,

    All 3 of my kids love Webkinz! Emme would love to have a Webkinz pal! Her online id is Emme365 and her Webkinz is a chihuahua named Daphne 🙂

    Sherry

  5. Anonymous said,

    Sorry, this is sherry from

    http://educatingemme.blogspot.com

    or you can email me at educating.emme@gmail.com

  6. Anonymous said,

    Oh, man. I want to say "watch out!" Just kidding. My dd discovered Webkinz about a year ago. Actually, it's been a huge motivator. She doesn't read a whole lot and she earned 2 Webkinz over the summer – 1 each for 1000 minutes of reading time. Anyway, my dd is also 6 and I'll try to get her online name to share with you.
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com
    P.S. I find some of the games fun, too!

  7. Anonymous said,

    My daughter (6) collects webkinz too and she would love an online pal (that I have deemed a safe friend LOL). How do we set it up so they can play online together with Webkinz???

  8. Anonymous said,

    I just checked with my dd. Her Webkinz name is pandysis6 and she'd love to play with your dd!
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  9. pottershand said,

    My daughters would love to have a new friend to share their Webkinz with. You can email me your daughters code or I can email theirs to you. I don't want to post their codes.

Leave a Reply

