When I Grow Up

September 15, 2007 at 10:53 am (Uncategorized)

My 6 year old daughter asked me the other day what I wanted to be when I grew up back when I was a kid.  Without even thinking about it I answered:

1. A wife
2. A mother
3. A teacher
4. A writer

As soon as I finished rattling off my list she replied "No, Mom those are all the things you really are, what did you want to be?"  WOW, she is right I am all those things and believe it or not that is REALLY what I wanted to be!  God is good!

Wife & Mother – When I was a kid I wanted nothing more that to be a wife and mother.  It was not an easy path the way I thought it would be, but the difficult journey was certainly worth it!

Teacher – A year or so ago my Mom sent me a little book I had made in school when I was young.  It was an All About Me book and for "What do you want to be when you grow up?"  I wrote Teacher!  My Mom had put a little yellow post-it note next to it and wrote "Looks like you got this right!"  Yep, I sure did and in a better way than I could have even imagined way back then!

A Writer – Because of my blog I am able to write every day and people actually read what I am writing!  YAY!!!!  (It never cease to amaze me that people are reading this!)

It is good feeling to realize I have accomplished so many of my goals.  I do find it funny that I managed to do them all in a way that I make absolutely NO money doing any of them!  LOL  (That is very ME, I have always been better at spending money than making it!  LOL)

5 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    Wow! That is neat. I know I always wanted to be a mom. Even in college, I just wanted to find a job where I could stay home with my kids once I had them. So, I became a teacher thinking I'd be home when they were home. Thankfully, I am home when she's home. And, I don't have to teach a roomful of public school kids – which I don't feel I was very good at and didn't enjoy at all!
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  2. drewsfamilytx said,

    I think those are wonderful aspirations! Congrats on following through, my friend! 🙂

  3. picluvinmom said,

    I wanted to be a teacher and a social worker/councilor and number one I am and number 2 well we have a huge youth group with tons of broken hearts so I feel like I accomplished that some days..

  4. sagerats said,

    Hi Jamin! Look I am leaving a comment, which means I read your blog, finally. Again. : )

    I wanted to be a teacher when I grew up too, but I also wanted to be a fighter pilot and a spy. Some might thing that teaching is not as exciting as the other two but they would be wrong.

    Abiding in the Vine!

  5. kellieann said,

    My list was the same as yours, although I went through a brief stint in highschool when I was if-y about the wife and mother thing, but I was just fed up with adolescent boys then.

Leave a Reply

