Little Books for Little Ones

September 17, 2007 at 10:37 am (Uncategorized)

My 3 year old is really in to making little books.  Nothing fancy, we just staple together a few sheets of paper and then he tells me what he wants written and drawn inside them.  (I have tried to get him to do the drawing, but he insists I do it!  My drawing skills are pretty pathetic though!  LOL)  Anyway the only problem I have with these is that he wants to carry them everywhere and after a few days of loving from a 3 year old they start falling apart.  Enter DUCT TAPE!  LOL  We have a bunch of ends of rolls laying around after our duct tape crafting and so I reinforced the spines with a little strip.  It works great!  He has been carrying these around for several weeks and and they are still looking good.  Plus the staples don’t stick his fingers anymore!


He could hardly stand to part with his books while I took the picture of them!  LOL

The little one on the right with the hand of the front he made at his Wednesday night church class.  When I came to pick him up he ran to the door yelling "MOM, WE MADE A HANDBOOK!!!!"  I am thinking "Why would a 3 year old need a handbook?"  Then he ran and got it and held it up proudly and said "See, right there it’s a hand!"

It is so fun to see the world through the eyes of a 3 year old!

7 Comments

  1. Maleah said,

    I never thought to use duct tape, but of course it makes perfect sense.

    Hand book… that's so funny. 🙂

  2. Diane said,

    Great idea w/the duct tape. Plus, your little boy is just soooooo adorable my goodness. 🙂

  3. CarpeBanana said,

    now there's a useful handbook.

  4. drewsfamilytx said,

    Great idea with the duct tape! You'd make any man proud with your ingenuity! 🙂

  5. picluvinmom said,

    LOL..A hand book..We made a duct tape gift too..It was loved and Kass had tons of fun with it..It is on my blog..She said she want purple duck tape for Christmas..Kids are so funny..

  6. alycia in Va. said,

    that's adorable. Alex is sick right now but I can see a book about her adventures to the hospital once she's well again! We actually have our students at school duct tape their spiral notebooks so that they last all year ( and these are 13 year olds!)

    Alycia (The Power of One)
    http://web.mac.com/alyciawright1/iWeb/The%20Power%20of%20One/Welcome.html

  7. Kellyque777 said,

    I just gave you a "You Make Me Smile" award. Please stop by my blog to take a lookie 🙂

    Love <>< Kelly (Kellyque777)

Leave a Reply

