Now I Know My ABC's!

October 3, 2007 at 10:45 am (Uncategorized)

My 3 year old can sing his ABC’s all the way through!!!!  Hooray!  I know your thinking this is no big deal, but let me tell you the kid was beginning to freak me out.  He made up his own version of the ABC’s about a year ago.  It goes like this:

A,B,C,D,H,I,J Now I know my ABC’s. Next time won’t you sing with me!

No matter how many times we corrected him and sang it with him he did it his own way!  I was beginning to think something was wrong.  Yesterday my 13 year old came to me and said "Mom, I just heard him sing the ABC’s all the way through perfectly!"  I ran and asked him to sing them for me and of course he did his own version!  But later in the day I heard him 3 times singing the whole thing correctly!  YEAH!!! Yep, he is stubborn and I fear this is just a taste of what teaching him is going to be like in the future!  But, at least I know he’s teachable!  LOL

4 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    It sounds like you have a random thinker on your hands . . . I have one and the best thing I ever did was read those learning styles books by Cynthia Ulrich Tobias. She opened my sequential eyes to appreciate the creativity, fun, and challenges of raising random, free-spirited kids.

    Tammy
    http://aut2bhomeincarolina.blogspot.com

  2. Anonymous said,

    The funny thing – I can relate. No matter how many times I correct her, my 4 year old STILL counts 13, 14, 16, 17,18,19,21,22……. It drives me CRAZY!!!

  3. drewsfamilytx said,

    That's fantastic!

    Is it bad that I rarely sing the ABCs with my almost 3yo? Oi. Poor kid. He can make popcorn, color, and pour his own OJ, but I rarely sing those preschool-y songs with him like I did with my older 2. *sigh* I need to work on that!

  4. picluvinmom said,

    Ha Ha ..I have one of them he is not yet 2 but boy am I fearing that some days I will just want to pull my hair out..

Leave a Reply

