More on Teaching the ABC's

October 4, 2007 at 10:23 am (Uncategorized)

Here is a comment I received yesterday on my Now I Know My ABC’s post…

Posted by drewsfamilytx

That’s fantastic!

Is it bad that I rarely sing the ABCs with my almost 3yo? Oi. Poor kid. He can make popcorn, color, and pour his own OJ, but I rarely sing those preschool-y songs with him like I did with my older 2. *sigh* I need to work on that!

Okay, I can totally relate to that!  It is hard to be all things to all people!  I have struggled with the same thing!  I have asked my 2 older kids to please sing it with him as much as possible and other than that I have tried to make a point of singing it to him frequently as I strap him into the car seat.  That is about the only one-on-one time I get with the poor kid!  LOL  So while I am buckling I try to sing it with him. 

Also, I wanted to mention this nifty little Leap Frog Sing Along Microphone which he loves! 


I got lucky and found this at a garage sale for a quarter!  I highly recommend it!  What is does is you can push a button and it plays the ABC’s, 123’s, Old Mac Donald & Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.  Then you can also  push another button to sing aloing with the song.  Once you have sung with it you can then push another button to hear yourself singing.  Both my 3 year old and 6 year old LOVE this toy.  It is great for the car because it is small, easy to carry and has no parts to lose!  It also has a volume button which is my best friend! LOL

Now if only MY 3 year old could make popcorn and pour his own juice!!!!


2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    My daughter had one of those when she was younger and played & played with it! Lots of fun!
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  2. drewsfamilytx said,

    I'm famous! 🙂

    I'm okay with my 2yo making popcorn (with my help) but getting his own OJ? I guess it's okay now… but starting out… he was SO insistent, and not always coordinated! It wasalso a good time for the boy to learn how to properly clean up a spill (a skill he has almost mastered now).

    As to that microphone, that looks really neat. My trick to batter required items that don't have volume control (besides the trash)? A piece of masking tape over the little speaker part. Ahhh… muted merriness…

Leave a Reply

