Biblical Lessons Learned from our Pets!

October 12, 2007 at 10:03 am (Uncategorized)

Steve over at Walden’s Wit posted yesterday about what his cat Tux has taught him about how we frequently relate to God.  I found it ironic because the kids and I have also been discussing  how our dog (A Bichon) is the perfect example of how we should worship God!  This dog absolutely loves us, he adores us and he yearns to spend time with us.  He is particularly fond of ME! He follows ME everywhere!  I have to shut him in the family room behind a baby gate at night to keep him from licking my face all night!  He cries when we leave him and literally rejoices when we return to him.  He trusts us completely!  He never doubts that we that we love him or that we are doing what is best to him.  He worships us!

Wow!  What if  treated God the way my dog treats me?  What if I woke up ever morning and my 1st thought was about God, instead of making breakfast & my ultra long to-do list? What if I yearned to do my Bible study, pray and meditate instead of scheduling it in and just "getting it done"?  (Checked that off my list…) What if I "climbed into God’s lap" so to speak every time I possibly could? What if I really trusted that He always had my best interest in mind!  (Even when he did something I couldn’t understand, like lock me in the backyard when groceries were being carried in so I wouldn’t get out and get hit by a car!) What if I never doubted His ways but just kept on praising and worshiping Him? I can’t even imagine the blessings I would receive! 

Here is a prayer I thought I would never pray:

Dear God,

Please let me be more like my dog,  and help me not to be like Steve’s cat!

Amen!

"As John 4:23 says, Its time, as worshipers of God, to give him all we have. For when he is exalted, everything about me is decreased. So many times we stand in the way of really stepping into the secret place of worship with God. Just abandon tradition and the "expected" ways of Praise & Worship and get lost in the holy of holies with the sole intention of blessing the Fathers heart."
Jessica Leah Springer


John 4:23
"But an hour is coming, and now is, when the true worshipers
will worship the Father in spirit and truth;
for such people the Father seeks to be His worshipers.


2 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    What a wonderful lesson! May we all be more like our dogs. đŸ™‚
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  2. redmom said,

    I, too, love that picture of your little guy in the mirror.

    We need to get to work on costumes. I've been putting that off.

Leave a Reply

