Lip Gloss and Handbags

October 22, 2007 at 10:50 am (Uncategorized)

Okay, I am going to warn you up front.  This is going to be a post about Lip Gloss and Expensive Handbags.  I wish I could tell you there was going to be some deep philosophical revelation at the end of the post…But. it ain’t happening!  LOL

1st – Lip Gloss

In 1973 when I was 8 years old Bonnie Bell introduced the very 1st flavored lip gloss ~  Lip Smackers!  I LOVE Lip Smackers!  Not long after this product was introduced my friend Kathy and I discovered it.  We use to save every penny we could to go to town and buy a new tube!  I have been using this product for over 30 years now and I never smear the deliciousness on my lips without thinking of my friend Kathy!  This weekend I got a very rare chance to take just my daughter shopping and I introduced her to Lip Smackers!  She got Strawberry and I got another tube of my favorite…Watermelon!  (My 3 year old got into mine last week and destroyed it, so I needed a new tube.)  This is just one of those "I enjoy being a girl!" type products for me and the fact that it reminds me of the happy days of my childhood is a real bonus!  I hope my daughter is still loving Lip Smackers and remembering a fun shopping trip with Mom when she is 42!

2nd – Expensive Handbags

If money were no object I would have a closet full of expensive handbags!  I would probably still buy my clothes at K-Mart, Wal-Mart and Thrift Stores, but I would carry a great handbag every day!  LOL  There is just something about a really nice handbag.  Back in the days before kids I actually bought several really nice handbags.  One Dooney and Bourke and 2 Coach.  I have owned these bags for over 13 years and they are still beautiful and in great shape!  (I bet you never expected that a person who makes purses from Capri Sun Pouches would love expensive handbags!  LOL)  Anyway all this purse talk came about because I found this really cool website recently where you can rent high end handbags!  LOL  It is called Bag Borrow or Steal.  The website claims you can borrow from hundreds of designer handbags for prices as low as $15.00 a week!  (Of course I did see some that were as much as $850.00 a month!  LOL)  Now, I won’t be renting any designer hand bags in the near future.  But, someday my kids will be grown.  My youngest should finish homeschooling before I am 60 (hehehe) so just watch out!  One of these days I am going to be scooting around town in my wheelchair with a Vintage Gucci handbag perched on my lap!  (And of course I will have several tubes of Lip Smackers tucked inside!)

Who says we homeschoolers won’t know what to do with ourselves once our children are grown!  LOL

When I have a brand new hairdo
With my eyelashes all in curl,
I float as the clouds on air do,
I enjoy being a girl!

Oscar Hammerstein

Okay, tomorrow I promise to try to come up with something a little more mentally stimulating than I did today!

Oh, and speaking of handbags…if anyone wants to know what I want for from Santa this year you can find out HERE!


7 Comments

  1. Maleah said,

    Lipsmackers is some good stuff!

    Glad you have everything all planned out for when the nest is empty.

    I'm still thinking on this one, but I have a ways to go yet before having to deal with it.

  2. Juldos said,

    When I started reading about the expensive handbags I knew I had to tell you about… Bag, Borrow or Steal; and then you mentioned it. How funny!
    Cute entry. Thanks for sharing.
    Julie D.

  3. skdenfeld said,

    I feel the exact same way about pretty shoes, even though the majority of the time I have 9 year old hiking boots on.

    Kathi
    PS. Love the 'girl' poem.

  4. chelelew said,

    I couldn't help but to chuckle while I read your post. And do you stil carry your high end purse of Capri-Sun? 🙂

    Even though we are the same age, I didn't get into the Bonnie Bell Lip Smackers. But there was Love's Baby Soft Perfume….. 🙂

    ~~CheleLew~~

  5. Christina said,

    Just a head's up…
    http://www.homeschoolestore.com/catalog/index.php
    This site is giving for free a modesty lapbook kit this week only!!!

  6. Elinor said,

    Oh I LOVED Lip Smackers!! Remember the big fat ones, and the ones that hung around your neck?? My favorite was the Bubble Gum flavor – yummy! My sister and I got them every year for Christmas. They were at the very bottom of our stockings, and we couldn't wait to 'unload the goods' so we could see the flavors of the year. ha ha My daughter is also a lip smacker addict. Maybe we should start a club…LSA (Lip Smackers Anonymous)

    "Hello, I'm Elinor and I'm a Lip-Smacker-a-holic." ha ha

    As for handbags…whenever I buy a new one, my daughter runs to my closet to 'steal' one of my old ones…and she's only 6. I think she's going to be worse than I am. She carries purses in purses!!! They are so much fun though, and it's just one more reason to thank God for making me a woman. Men just don't know what they're missing. Ha!!

    Have a blessed evening,
    Elinor
    http://elinorandedward.blogspot.com/

  7. HeartSpringsHaven said,

    I can't believe it; a kindered spirit via Lip Smackers!

    This is my very first post on HS Blogger; I've lurked but never posted or started my own blog for lack of time. However, this just got my attention today!

    I have the vanilla lipgloss tucked in nearly every room of my house where I spend a considerable amount of time, in robes, the van, etc.!

    I don't think I have not had lip gloss on since 1987 therefore, I literally feel like my lips do not produce their own oils anymore; I can't go without it, it's almost an obsession. I feel like I'm going to crawl the walls if I don't have some on! I have not heard of any other sane adult that enjoys this little, inexpensive luxery like I do! (I think that partly it's the vanilla-the scent relaxes me!)

    By the way, did you catch the quadruple size limited-time offer packages of some of the flavors for only about $2.50? Keep your eyes out for those!

    Thanks for this sweet, low-stress moment of blogging!

Leave a Reply

