Happy Hour

October 23, 2007 at 10:58 am (Uncategorized)

This is one of those unexpected "joys" of teaching your children to read!  LOL

I go to pick my kids up from Art & Sign Language classes yesterday.  My daughter yells across the room "Hey, Mom can we go to Happy Hour now?"  WHAT????  Okay, I actually know what she is talking about.  Every week after class we go to Sonic and get 1/2 priced drinks.  Sonic does call it "Happy Hour" but we never have!  When we get to the car I asked her where she got that and she said "I read it on the window at Sonic Mom."  I explained to her that although Happy Hour might mean 1/2 price drinks at Sonic to her, to everyone else it probably meant something else!  LOL 

At least I know she is reading!  LOL  I am glad our homeschool group has the kind of Mom’s that will extend us some grace and not assume the worse! 

Parenting it never fails to humble me! 

3 Comments

  1. skdenfeld said,

    It is a frightening thing when our kids become that smart.

    Cute story.

    Kathi

  2. Diane said,

    That's funny, and I have another funny to share with you. My gynocologist sent me a postcard with a reminder to make my yearly appt. I put it on my fridge with a magnet so I wouldn't forget to make the appt. and my son (7) says, Mommy, what is a pap smear? My husband and I both gasped! LOL

  3. mamatee said,

    LOL! I can relate! My son was an early reader. We were standing outside a group of restaurants trying to choose one when my son noticed a building nearby that said, "Adult Fun". "Lets go to the Adult Fun place!" he cried. We had a hard time explaining that it wasn't the kind of place we would enjoy (it was a strip bar!). He was pretty persistent. Thank God for Golden Arches (NEVER thought I'd say that!) – the great distraction, lol!

Leave a Reply

