Natural Consequences

October 26, 2007 at 10:23 am (Uncategorized)

I know you all think that homeschooling is always full of sunshine and daisies at our house…BUT…I posted the following on a Mom’s yahoo group I am in response to examples of how we let our kids learn from natural consequences.  It seemed to be well received there, so I thought maybe someone could benefit from it here too:

I had a conversation with my 13 year old this week that I think fits into natural consequences. He is not cheating on an exam, but cheating himself because he is lazy with his school work and just wants to do whatever the minimum amount he can do to get by.  I am so overwhelmed right now that he is basically doing school on his own.  He is perfectly capable of doing this!  He is 13 and has been homeschooled since birth, he knows the drill.  But he tend to be lazy and likes drama. So he comes to me and tries to tell me he’s too tired, has a headache, can’t focus, hungry, distracted by his siblings, distracted by the dog, blah, blah, blah!  I finally lost it with him a couple days ago!  I sat him down and told him this.  "You are 13 years old and you are old enough to start making some decisions on what kind of future you will have.  Dad and I have offered you the free gift of an excellent education.  We have given you the best curriculum, instruction, attention, etc.  It is kind of like the gift of Salvation.  You now have to decide it you are going to accept the gift.  I cannot make you value your education.  I know that when you are grown we will have no regrets over the education we offered you.  Now you have to decide if you want to accept this gift, get a great education and have a very promising future."

 
It seems to have reached him.  He is doing much better!

See life is not always perfect here!  I am just really good talking about the roses and not the thorns!

2 Comments

  1. redmom said,

    This is the one thing I really liked when listening to Foster Kline (Love & Logic). He said (paraphrase) "It is not the parent's job to insure the child's success, but to provide an environment where the child can thrive and succeed if they choose to take advantage of it."

    I think it's a good thing when our kids realize that THEY are responsible for what they do with the tools/resources we give them.

  2. Anonymous said,

    Thanks for giving us a glimpse that your family isn't perfect! And, I love how you said you're giving him a gift and it's his to accept. I never really thought about what a gift I am giving my child! I've just thought how lucky she is – you know, people tell you how "lucky" you are that you get to stay home, etc. But, this is a sacrifice and I am giving my daughter an incredible gift. Thanks for opening my eyes!

Leave a Reply

