Headaches & Homeschooling

October 29, 2007 at 10:27 am (Uncategorized)

One thing that happens in traditional school that doesn’t happen in homeschool is vision tests.  I remember when I was in 4th grade it was the school nurse coming to my classroom that let my parents know I needed to get to the Eye Doctor….With homeschooling we don’t have kids sitting in the back of the room complaining they can’t see the chalkboard. (Or whiteboard which I guess is what they use nowadays.)  Homeschool kids don’t come home and tell us they can’t read the lunch menu up on the wall in the cafeteria.  We have to figure it out for ourselves!  LOL

Well, that is just what happened at our house this week.  My 13 year old has been having A LOT of headaches the last few months.  He had not complained that he could not see, but his eyes would often be blood shot by the end of the day.  Soooooooo, off we went to the Eye Doctor!  And here is the result…

My baby got glasses!!!!!

I think he picked out great frames.  He looks so handsome and so mature in them.  We also spent the extra money and got him the transition lenses to they magically turn into sunglasses when he goes outside.  I figure we have a better chance of him not losing them if he is not switching back and forth between 2 pairs of glasses.

Just another reminder that my baby is growing up!  (It sure is nice that he isn’t having headaches anymore!)

We also made this part of school for my 6 year old. She has been studying vision.  (We are working on a vision lapbook, but life seems to keep delaying us from finishing it!)  Anyway, she went along and was fascinated with all the equipment and tests they ran.  She wants to make a booklet now about what goes on at an Eye Doctor appointment. Living and learning together, that’s what homeschooling is all about!

2 Comments

  1. drewsfamilytx said,

    Great choice on the glasses– he looks so handsome!

    I'm with ya on the vision thing. Tank goes in for a yearly exam. So far it's such a slight problem that there is no need for correction. I hope it stays that way! My boys would not be easy on glasses!

    Just the other day someone asked me if Dozer (almost 3yo) has ever had his vision checked. I asked them why they were asking. They commented on the inordinately large amount of bruises, bumps and knots on his head! 🙂 Yup, that's my boy. He is always hitting his noggin on something– but it's not because he can't see, it's because he is extra rough and tumbly!

  2. picluvinmom said,

    He looks handsome in them..I am happy he will have no more headaches mabey it will help the school day go easy..

Leave a Reply

