Sex Education

November 8, 2007 at 10:53 am (Uncategorized)

For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb.
I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.

Psalms 139:13-14


It seems that everywhere I go lately someone is talking about Sex Education.  I figured that was my cue to throw my 2 cents in!  LOL  Actually, next to Algebra nothing really freaks out a homeschool parent more than the thought of teaching Sex Ed!  Let’s face it, we don’t want to world to teach our children the facts of life…But, most of us are not dying to do it either!  Fear not, there are resources to help you! Sonlight offers a series of books called God’s Design For Sex.  They are wonderful, thoughtfully written books designed for kids of all ages. 

Here are the books they offer and a brief description of each from the Sonlight website:

The Story of Me (3 – 5 year olds)
"Tell me my story again, Daddy," asks a little boy. And this is the story of how he came to be…beginning from God’s love in making everything in the world, to the family as a context for growing up, to the specialness of being a boy or a girl. Includes a discussion of proper names for private body parts. Written and illustrated for you to read with and to your child.

Before I was Born (5-8 year olds)
Beginning from the same foundation as The Story of Me, this volume discusses tactfully yet directly: how our bodies change as we become men and women, the basic nature of sexual intercourse between a husband and wife, and how a baby grows inside its mother and is eventually born. Written and illustrated for you to read with and to your child.

What’s The Big Deal? (8-11 Year Olds)
Reviews, expands upon, and reinforces the material in the first two books, The Story of Me and Before I Was Born. Focuses on why God intends sex to be reserved for marriage while also seeking to "inoculate" your child against the negative moral messages of the world… (read more)

Facing The Facts (11 – 14 year olds)
All the material from the earlier books, The Story of Me, Before I Was Born, and What’s the Big Deal? plus more…and in much greater detail. Talks about love and dating (and how not to confuse hormonal urges with something really serious!); how to deal with friends who are not following God’s ways… (read more)

I have used the first three books with my kids and am getting ready to order the last one.  Okay, so it is official..I have now covered EVERY imaginable homeschool topic on my blog!  LOL


1 Comment

  1. picluvinmom said,

    Yep it is official..Mabey it will be someones inspiration talking about that hard subject..Look she did it with her kids and posted it on her blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

