Playing

November 10, 2007 at 11:06 pm (Uncategorized)

Last night my 3 year old and I built a "clubhouse" out of Big Blocks.  Once we got it built I sat inside and he came by (repeatedly) "trick-or-treating".  He LOVED it!  (Even though he was getting candy right out of the bag he had collected at Harvest Festival!  LOL ) After we had played for awhile he said to me "Thanks for playing with me Mom.  You never play with me!"  At first I started to defend myself.  "What do you mean I never play with you??  I am here all the time.  I never leave you, of course I play with you!!!"  But as I thought about it I realized he was right!  Don’t get me wrong.  I read with him, do crafts, take him on field trips, take him to the park, love and cuddle him, etc., etc,, etc.  But for me to get down on the floor and "play" is rare!  This was not always the case…My oldest child was an "only" child for 6 1/2 years and I was his primary play mate!  I was on the floor with him all the time. (Of course my 42 year old body was 10 years younger back then too!  LOL) We played blocks, Bionicles, Batman.  You name it!   I knew more about "boy toys" than I ever cared to!  LOL  My youngest doesn’t really need me to play with him! It is rare for him even to ask me to play with him! He has his sister who is 2 1/2 years older than him who LIVES to play with him.  He has his brother who is 10 year older than him who LOVES to play with all those "boy toys" one more time.  Things have changed! 

All this got me thinking about how I really am a different parent to each of my children.  This is not a bad thing!  I honestly believe God has given me just what I need to be the best parent I can to each of these kids. My oldest needed all that attention. My other 2 are much less high need than my oldest was/is.  It is awesome to see how God has used all my stresses, strains and inadequacies to make me the Mom He wants me to be.  I don’t always get it right.  But, I do see how God has equip me with what I need each day and how He has given me the perfect children at the perfect time.

God is good!

1 Comment

  1. Suzanne said,

    Having only two children, I feel completely unqualified to even comment on blogs of those who have more than two children. However, I, too, do not play with my youngest as much as I did with our oldest. And, they're only 27 months apart.

Leave a Reply

