Virtual Flat Stanley Project

November 18, 2007 at 9:33 am (Uncategorized)

 

Flat Stanley is a book written in 1964 by Jeff Brown.  It is a charming little story about a boy who wakes up one morning to find that he has been flattened by his bulletin board which fell off the wall in the middle of the night.  Instead of being disturbed by the flattening of their son his parents decide there are advantages to having a flat son.  One of them is they car save a lot of money on travel fares because he can be mailed places in an envelope!  LOL 

For years school children have been mailing Flat Stanley’s or flat versions of themselves around the world for friends and families to take on adventures.  We 1st learned about this about 10 years ago when my niece (now 16!) sent us a Flat version of herself through the mail and asked us to take it on and adventure.  Of course we had to get the book and read it 1st!  Once we read the book we were hooked!  Not only did we take her Flat version on an adventure and write her a letter telling her about it, but we made our own Flat Stanley and passed him around to friends and family also.  This has gotten so popular over the years that the book we just bought actually had a Flat Stanley to cut out and mail right in the back of the book!  What a fun way to learn geography!

A few months ago I came across the Virtual Flat Stanley project online. This is a great idea!  Instead of mailing a paper version around everyone can print their own from the pdf file at the website.  Then you take Stanley on and adventure and post it on your blog!  You know the blog connection had me hooked!  LOL  Once everyone has posted about their adventures an E-Book will be put together with everyones posts and given to all the participants!  What fun!

So here is our adventure….

Of course even though there was a Flat Stanley in the back of our book my kids wanted to make their own.




The mask is not part of Flat Stanley, but my 3 year old LOVES these pads of body shaped papers I have.  Since I had them out to make the Flat Stanley’s he had to make a mask too! 

I had been putting this off until we went somewhere "good" but the kids were dying to take Stanley somewhere.  So yesterday we took him to the Skating Rink!

Here is my daughter at the skating rink with her Flat Stanley.

Here is my 3 year old doing what he does every month at homeschool skate day. 
This time he had his friend Stanley to drive with him!  LOL

Here is what my kids had to say about Flat Stanley’s adventure!

My 3 year old:

I took Flat Stanley to the Skating Rink.  I drived with him!  It was fun!  I liked the book it was good!

My favorite part (of the book) is Stanley being flat!

My 6 year old says:

I took Flat Stanley to the skating rink.  We skated around in circles.  Both of his arms got torn off.  Skating is hard for a paper person!  We gave the Flat Stanley from our book to our friends who are going to the Grand Canyon.  They are taking him with them!  Lucky Stanley!!! 

My favorite part of the book is when Stanley’s brother is jealous and he tries to flatten himself with books!

I hope you will click on over to sign up and add your families adventure with Stanley to the project!

BTW, here is a FREE Unit Study on Flat Stanley!

3 Comments

  1. MyDarlin said,

    Well you know we just have to get the book and give this one a try. What fun. Just the idea has me interested as well. Especially for our Disney trip!
    TY

  2. CommunicationFUNdamentals said,

    Cute kidlings! Hey how come it's Nov. 18th? Where are you? Here in my neck o the woods it's only Saturday the 17th.

    Hey come on over to my blog. I'm having another fun contest! Pass it on!

    JoJo

  3. 4sweetums said,

    This sounds like something interesting to look into. I will have to get the book. My parents are going to Italy next summer. HMMMM!
    Blessings,
    4sweetums

Leave a Reply

