Lunch

November 20, 2007 at 10:39 am (Uncategorized)

I have mentioned before about how I cook most of our dinners in the crockpot.  But since we homeschoolers are home with our kiddos 24/7 we have 3 meals a day to cook!  Since I HATE to cook this is a big deal for me.  So here is what we do for simple and fun lunches…


For the most part all our lunches are quick things.  I don’t want to get stuck back in the kitchen when I feel like I just left there after breakfast!  We eat a lot of quesadillas, soup & sandwiches. With these I add a few slices of fruit, carrots and string cheese and VOILA! Lunch!

This is a butterfly sandwich!  This got started by our 16 year old babysitter and now whenever I make sandwiches I HAVE to make butterfly sandwiches for the 2 little ones.  Fun, Fun, Fun!!!



One of my favorite gizmos for lunch though is my sandwich maker.


I got this at Wal-Mart this Summer for under $10.00.  It is great for me because I am not a big fan of cold sandwiches.  This makes 2 hot melty sandwich in 3 minutes!  Turkey and swiss on wheat bread is my favorite!  You can also make Monte Cristo sandwiches in it.  Which the kids LOVE!  I make those a lot when we are having a late breakfast and I am trying convince them that we had breakfast and lunch at the same time!  LOL  But the BEST part of the sandwich maker is you can make muffins in 3 minutes!


Okay, they come out as weird little triangles, but they taste great!  LOL  I love that I can make muffins without turning on the oven.  I make a lot of blueberry muffins and cornbread muffins.  This comes in hand with the crockpot too.  We can come home to a hot meal and have cornbread to go with it in 3 minutes!  (You can make 4 at a time so multiply 3 minutes times however many you need for your family.  I have all my recipes down to make 8 muffins because that is what we usually eat.)

So that is lunch at our house.  If you have any great recipes, tips or suggestions to make lunch easier I would LOVE to hear them!


1 Comment

  1. jennybell68 said,

    That is why I LOVE the internet…you can discover all sorts of things that you never would have thought of on your own. Thanks for the tip…I'm going to try this soon.

Leave a Reply

