Douglas Fir

December 12, 2007 at 9:50 am (Uncategorized)

This is Douglas Fir….

Grandma bought this for my oldest son when he was 1 or 2. (Thanks Mom!?!?!) Douglas is a singing Christmas Tree.  I am quite sure no parent has ever bought one of this for their own children!  LOL  The thing is LOUD!  Plus he is motion activated so he sits quietly in a room until you walk in and then he starts singing LOUDLY making a person JUMP 3 feet in the air!  The good thing is I can eat all the Christmas goodies I want in Dec.  I burn them all off when I jump in the air 7 or 8 times a day!  LOL

Our Douglas being 10 or 11 years old now is a little worse for wear.  He use to have a cute Santa hat and several more branches on top!  Now we tie a ribbon around the top to make him hopefully look a little better. 

I have to tell you though…My kids LOVE Douglas!!!!  This one decoration brings more joy, laughter, and dancing to our home each year than all our other decorations put together!

Quiet honestly I think he’s a little scary looking!  LOL  Especially since his mouth is now broken and it flaps around randomly while he sings.

Can you see his eyes sort of glowing behind the greenery?

See how happy Douglas makes this guy?

I am sure this is a holiday memory my kids will keep with them all their lives. What could be better than singing at the top of your lungs with a crazy looking animated Christmas tree?

Yes, I am always just as happy to box Douglas up after Christmas as the kids are to get him out each year.  But, honestly he is one of my favorite decorations.  Not because of his loud. obnoxious singing…But because of the smiles he brings to my children’s faces.  Now if I can just make it through December without Douglas giving me a heart attack!  LOL

4 Comments

  1. writmm said,

    What a cool decoration! My kids love all of our singing decorations in our home…two snowmen, a Santa head and a Santa and Elf…

    Happy jumping;)

    Melissa
    http://www.melissaomarkham.com

  2. Anonymous said,

    I have a Singer that looks just like yours in the photo.
    Susan

  3. Christina Puntigam said,

    We went to a tree festival and there was a large version of this. The woman displaying it had someone behind the scenes that could see and hear so the tree had an actual conversation with my daughter! I think she would love the small version, too.

  4. farawaytree said,

    I can't believe you *still* have Douglas!! That just cracks me up! 🙂

    Love and hugs to all!

    -Sharon

Leave a Reply

