Computer Keyboard

January 7, 2008 at 10:41 am (Uncategorized)

My curious kids LOVE to take things apart!  So when my oldest sons computer keyboard stopped working the obvious thing to do was disassemble it before we threw it away!  LOL

Here they are just getting started with taking the back off.
My 4 year old was thrilled because there were about 20 screws to remove and he LOVES to work a screw driver!

When they popped the back cover off there were a bunch of these little blue pads that fit under the keys.

Very interesting!

My daughter is holding the circuit board panels that were next to the blue key pads.  You can see all the circuitry traveling through it to take the info to the computer.

This guy couldn’t decide which was more interesting.  The keyboard or Mom’s little hammer with screwdrivers hidden in the handle!

My 4 year old loves to sort things.  So he made a pile of all the blue things.  (They look like blue contact lenses to me!)

Now it is time to remove the keys!

Our little sorter collects all the loose pieces!

The happy destruction crew.

All the bits and pieces.

I think this is a great way for the kids to learn about how things work.  It is so fun for them to know they can’t do this project wrong and to see the light bulbs come on when they realize they now understand how something like a keyboard works. 

Now I just have to make sure my 4 year old can’t get a hold of a screwdriver!  There will not be a keyboard safe within 20 miles!  LOL

3 Comments

  1. writmm said,

    I agree with you! Hands on experience is the best way to learn!

    Melissa
    http://www.melissaomarkham.com

  2. drewsfamilytx said,

    What a great idea! Thanks for reminding me to let my boys disassemble sometimes. I forget that it's ever a good idea… but like you, I will have to be wary of any future good ideas that they might have on their own!

  3. Anonymous said,

    What a great idea. I think I might have to be on the lookout for some things my dd can take apart! And, I can just see your son getting into the screwdrivers to have fun taking something else apart… 🙂
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

