THM ~ Organizing Your Homeschool January 16, 2008

January 17, 2008 at 10:04 am (Uncategorized)

Jamin!Homeschool Freebies
Jamin!, Freebie Finder


One thing I have learned about homeschoolers over the years is the we LOVE books! Big books, little books, all kinds of books! The only problem with owning a lot of books is storing them. So this week I thought I would bring you ideas for dealing with your ever growing collection of books!

The first idea is for organizing little paperback books. 
You know the kind – little narrow spines that tend to get lost on the shelves! Many times they are part of a series and you want to keep them all together. So here is an idea that is not only free but is a great way to recycle. Save cereal boxes, cracker boxes, etc. Use a knife or scissors to cut the box in an angle down the side.


Then you can cover it with scraps of wrapping paper, contact paper, or brown paper. You could also use spray adhesive and cover it with fabric. Here is another view of one tucked into a bookshelf after it has been covered in
silver wrapping paper and labeled.
finished boxes
These are great because the kids can pull down the whole set of books they are interested in. They can keep them all together and easily put them back. We have them on our bookshelves marked as Science, History, Holidays, etc. When we are looking for one of those little books we know right where to go!

Here is idea number two. How about some bookshelves made out of rain gutter? While the materials to make these won’t be free the idea is! The concept is to use vinyl rain gutters to make storage shelves that allow you to store books with the titles facing out. When these are put down low in a child’s room or schoolroom children will be enticed to grab the books and read them! I know it sounds a bit odd, but they look really nice. Here is the website where you can learn all about them for free and even see pictures of them.

Idea number three is the one I most want to do myself!  LibraryThing allows you to create a library-quality catalog of your books.  You can enter 200 books in their online system for free. You can catalog with Amazon, the Library of Congress or 229 other world libraries.  Because the cataloging is done online, you can also meet other people who have the same books as you do.  If you have a blog, LibraryThing will give you widgets to put on your blog to let people know what you are reading.

Happy Homeschooling!

~Jamin

This article is from this weeks issue of The Homeschool Minute.  If you are interested in getting The Homeschool Minute as well as the Freebie Friday Newsletter you can subscribe for free HERE.  I will be passing along FREE goodies for your homeschool each week in both of these newsletters.  (Not to mention all the other great info you will get from The Homeschool Minute!)

5 Comments

  1. skdenfeld said,

    Hello! I Have a question for you. Today as I was getting ready to search for 'chore' related clip art I noticed that my McAfee sight advisor was down, and thus could not tell if the places I wanted to look were safe or not. That is when it occured to me that if anyone knew where to look, it would probably be you. Do you know of any good (free) clip art resources? Thanks, Jamin, hope you are doing well. I love all your great tips.

  2. Anonymous said,

    Speaking of books, I just wanted to let you know that Schoolastic is having a $0% off sale on books.They have some of the Msgic Tree House research ones, and some great boooks called If You Were There When…books they are geared towards things kids want to know about that time. Great books. Here is the link. Leena

    http://tinyurl.com/2ryuymEdited by jaminacema on Jan. 17, 2008 at 11:00 AM

  3. homeschoolforevermom said,

    I've got to do the cereal box thing for those little books. Great idea! Thanks.

    Martha

  4. abundantlyblessedtoo said,

    Thanks so much for sharing the Library Thing website!!! It looks sooo neat. I realized that I'd probably max out the free 200 books too quickly, so I am creating several accounts as I do different kinds of reading. I read for my own pleasure. I like to read Christmas books during December. And I read many books with my children.

    Thanks again!
    Michele Edited by abundantlyblessedtoo on Jan. 18, 2008 at 4:58 PM

  5. Anonymous said,

    YOu could also cover them with pretty contact paper. I used to do that or you could use scrapbook paper to make them look attractive or even heavy wrapping paper. Just some ideas to make them look attractive and be creative.

    debi

Leave a Reply

