MLK Lapbook

January 18, 2008 at 10:55 am (Uncategorized)

Just in case anyone is looking for something to do for the MLK Holiday on Monday I thought I would re-run my post on the lapbook we did last year. 

Enjoy!

Cover:

We have a drawing of MLK Jr. along with quotes from his I Have a Dream speech.  On the bottom is a brief description of his life.

Folder #1:

Here we have a mini book my 5 year old put together.  A Vocabulary booklet made by my 12 year old son and a little booklet by my 5 year old telling one thing she learned about MLK Jr.  On the right side we have a pocket for additional worksheets and coloring sheets.  (Even the 3 year old contributed a coloring sheet for this one!)  the 2 booklets on the right are Martin and Me and a Q&A sheet my 5 year old filled out. 

Vocabulary Words:
Boycott
Segregate
Discrimination
Peace
Civil Rights
Protest
Speech
Non- violence

My daughter wrote:
I learned that he is very famous.  He tried to make all people be treated the same.

Martin & Me
This was a worksheet we found that compared your life with MLK Jr. 

It included:
Date of Birth
Place of Birth
Brothers and Sisters
Activities Enjoyed
Father’s Occupation
Mother’s Occupation
Goal in Life

Folder #2
In this one we have an Acrostic Poem for Dr. King.  A picture my 12 year old drew of MLK Jr giving his famous I Have a Dream speech. and 2 clouds with info on the kids dreams.

Acrostic Poem:

Didn’t give up.
R
eally had a dream
K
illed on April 4th, 1968
I
Have a Dream was his most famous speech.
N
on-violent
G
ave his life to try and stop racism.

Here are the sources we used for the printables in this lapbook:

http://www.enchantedlearning.com/history/us/MLK/

http://homeschooling.about.com/b/a/216290.htm

http://www.gpschools.org/ci/ce/elem/holidays/mlkk5.htm

http://www.teach-nology.com/worksheets/misc/mlk/

I Have a Dream speech

Watch a video montage of MLK giving I Have A Dream Speeech


2 Comments

  1. Doverspike1 said,

    Hey, I just checked out spelling city! Thank you. My kids will definately enjoy it. Actually I have been playing with it, and it is fun. have a great day, and thank you for ALL your research and hard work.
    TJ

  2. Doverspike1 said,

    I went on the spelling city this morning and could. I just tried 100 times and it says it is forbidden!
    why. this site was great. help
    tj

Leave a Reply

