Confessions & Changes

January 28, 2008 at 10:31 am (Uncategorized)

I’m back!!!!  Well, sort of!  LOL

I did a lot of thinking while I was having my time away and have decided to make a few changes. 

One change is I decided to come clean with my readers as to what is going on in my life.  I have referred many times in the last year that I have been going through a challenging time.  Well, here is the story…

One year ago today my husband started a job 1221 miles away from where we live.  We were (and are) very grateful for the job.  He had been unemployed since the beginning of November and being a one income family we REALLY needed some income.  The "plan" was that the kids and I would stay behind and sell the house and join Dad as soon as possible.  Sigh…As most of you know if you live in the US the housing market is in BAD shape.  The area we live in has been hit particularly hard with foreclosures.  Soooooooooo we had our house on the market until the end of October and it was shown a grand total of 2 times.  At the end of October I decided to take it off the market.  Honestly I was tired of keeping the house "show ready" when no one was looking and I desperately needed to reduce something from my load.  With Christmas coming I was going to have to do all the shopping, decorating, baking, wrapping, and activities on my own.  I find the Holidays overwhelming anyway; I knew this was not going to be an easy year for me.

So, I probably don’t need to tell all the Mom’s that read my blog that 2007 was an incredibly HARD year for me.  Homeschooling, housekeeping, being all things to all people plus working part time has been more than a full load.  (I honestly don’t know how single parent’s do it!) It was a year of just making myself get up every day and putting one foot in front of the other.  I have done things this year that I had never done or even considered doing before. (Like mowing the lawn and changing the cat box!  LOL) One particularly funny night comes to mind.  I woke up one night and I heard a wind storm had blown in.  Normally I would just say "Honey, does anything outside need to be put away?" and go back to sleep.  But we had just gotten the inflatable water slide and I knew it was blowing around the back yard.  So I got up and ran outside in the dark and wind.  I decided I would just scoop the whole thing up and bring it inside.  Well, I didn’t think about the fact that it was wet underneath and wetness draws bugs in the desert!  So I scoop it up along with about a hundred of the nastiest big black bugs you can imagine! It was awful!  I was wet, covered in bugs and completely freaked out!  It is funny now, but I am sure glad no one was there to witness my attitude!!  LOL  I am sure there have been a lot of posts on my blog over the last year (Like the one about spreading 11 1/2 tons of rock with my son and his best friend.) where you all were wondering "Why on earth isn’t her husband helping?"  LOL  Trust me he would have been doing it if he had been here!!! 

So, what is happening now?  Well, we have the house back on the market.  It has been on for about 10 days and it has already shown once.  Which is encouraging compared to the last time we had it listed.  But, for the most part we are making plans to move without the house selling.  We may end up having to rent it, which honestly is NOT something I want to do!  (But, then again I didn’t really want to have my family apart for a year either!!!)  We are planning a trip to go see Dad in about 4 weeks and we will start looking for a place to rent.  So, the future is unsure, but all we can do is try to move forward and see where life leads us.

I am very grateful that Dad has been able to make lots of trips back in the last 12 months.  It is amazing to me how many things of importance happened while he was here, given the fact that he wasn’t here much!  Some of the events that happened while he was here was my daughter learning to ride her bike, my daughter losing her first tooth and my youngest potty training.  I am so glad Dad got to be part of those memories!  Plus he made it home to celebrate birthdays and big holidays.  It could have been much worse!

I can say that the positive of the last 12 months is I have truly learned "I can do all things through Christ that strengthens me." Philippians 4:13  I have grown in ways I never imagined.  No, It was not without my complaints!  I know there were times I drove my husband crazy and I am sure there have been moments that God was considering sending a lighting bolt for me!  LOL  I have learned so much about how God uses hard times to grow us into the people He wants us to be.  Don’t get me wrong, it has not been easy!  I have questioned and argued with God more in the last 12 months that I ever have in my life.  But, He has been faithful to me.  I have learned more in the last 12 months about God and myself than I ever could have imagined. However, I pray it ends soon because I miss my husband terribly!

Now, for more change.  I am realizing that I cannot keep up my blog on a daily basis the way I have for the last 2 years.  I love blogging and quite honestly it is one of the main things that has kept me sane this last year.  But, I just have to remove the pressure from myself of posting every day.  I may post every day and I may go weeks without posting.  I honestly don’t know what the future holds for my blog.  I am very much an "all or nothing" type personality.  If I can’t give something 110% then I would rather not do it at all.  But, I am resisting my "all or nothing tendencies" because so many of you have encouraged me to keep on blogging.

So, there you have it!  My crazy life in a nutshell….I would truly appreciate prayer. Prayer for our house to sell ASAP, prayer for my mental state, prayer for our family to be together soon.  Prayer, prayer, prayer!

Again, if you want to keep up with what is going on with us your best bet is to subscribe to my blog.  I am not going to post when I am taking breaks and such.  I am just going to post as things happen and try not to make myself crazy. (Okay, more crazy!  LOL)


Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


11 Comments

  1. writmm said,

    I pray your house will sell soon. I know what you mean about blogging. I love doing it, somedays though I wonder at the time I spend with it. Hang in there and drop in when you can!

    Melissa
    http://www.melissaomarkham.com

  2. SchoolinRhome said,

    You will certainly be missed here at homeschoolblogger. You are a main blogger and almost everyone knows you but you can hopefully feel that support behind you! You need to do what is BEST for your family! We will still check out your blog. I remember first checking out your blog back before my youngest was born when I was starting with lapbooks. Now I have my own blog and I visit yours weekly! I will pray that your house sells quickly and it will all work out. Jeremiah 29:11 "For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you- plans for hope and a future! Rely on the Lord and He will direct your paths! It's been nice learning from you! Check in whenever you can!Edited by SchoolinRhome on Jan. 29, 2008 at 8:55 AM

  3. Anonymous said,

    as always enjoy your blog…i remembered you mentioning moving and I just assumed you moved and didn't mention it or with dad in all the pics maybe the new job didn't work out. Sorry to hear you've been apart all these months. I hope your house sells soon and that you all can be together.

  4. chelelew said,

    Oh sweetie – thank you for sharing with us in blogville. I can only imagine the weight that you have borne being mom, teacher, handyman, and everything to everyone. Praise the Lord that He does provide strength. I will pray for a speedy sale to your house so your family can be together again. Sending bloggy hugs!!!!
    ~Chele~ from Hearts of Grace

  5. eclecticeducation said,

    Wow! I am so sorry to hear this. You are in my prayers. I hope your house sells soon and your family can be back together.

  6. westward said,

    Just sent up a prayer for ya! I look forward to each and every post you write and will wait as patiently as I need to. 😉 My sakes, there are enough archives to keep me busy if you're away for a while! lol

    Take care and best of luck on selling that house and getting your whole family together again.

  7. mykidsmatter2 said,

    I love your posts and look forward to reading them again soon..
    You and your family are in my prayers during this time… Good Luck with selling your home…
    God Bless…

  8. drewsfamilytx said,

    I will be praying for you! Wow, it really was a difficult year– and I'm not even going to think about bugs in the desert! Ick.

    If you do end up renting your house out, find a good realtor or company to manage it for you. It's worth being out some money to not have to mess with repairs, evictions, and all the other stuff that happens in a rent house.

  9. Helff said,

    I know these are trying times in the housing market. I used to work for a mortgage firm and I have an idea for you. Although I love the color on your walls, have you thought about putting up a neutral color on everthing, like a light beige. I know it sounds crazy, but I've heard several times that people like to look at the inside of freshly painted houses that look like they could move right in. It might help-something for you to think about. Sometimes it's the little things like that that help sell a little quicker!

    I will keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers. I've always enjoyed reading your blog and look forward to hearing from you in the future. Good luck with the house. I also know what it's like to have hubby gone. Mine is on his second year long deployment, almost back to back. It hasn't always been easy, but you're right-those are the times we find we are closest to God. He will take care of you and your family.

  10. Jimmie said,

    Glad you've "come clean" with us. I was wondering why no blogging about a move. 🙂
    Now we can lift you up with specifics.
    And as far as blogging daily, I understand. I wanted to do that too, but I realized it's just not feasible. So I released myself from that "expectation." I find that people comment more when I blog 2-3 times weekly. Too much is actually overload.

  11. Dana @ School For Us said,

    Thanks for posting the link back to this post today. I usually read your blog, but I went through a period when I didn't have time to read all of the blogs… anyway, I must have missed this one. I do pray that your house sells (if it still hasn't) and am so glad you are back together as a family. Thanks for sharing with us what God is teaching you. My husband works such long hours that sometimes I feel like a single parent. But, it does help me to grow and do things that I wouldn't otherwise! I really hadn't thought about how God might be using this to make ME grow. Thanks again for sharing,
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

