Only Child

March 26, 2008 at 10:18 pm (Uncategorized)

"Is she an only child?" I get this question a lot about my daughter.   I call her my "velcro child", the one who needs me more emotionally than the other 2.  It’s weird because in someways she is fiercely independent.  She could make a sandwich for herself and her older brother by the age of 3!  LOL 

When it comes to new situations (Something we are facing A LOT of lately!) she needs me until she adjusts. (Sometimes 1 time and sometimes 10!)  Sunday School, Awana, classes, new friends etc. she wants Mom by her side.  (Think velcro!  LOL)  It always makes me happy when someone asks if she is my only child.  I know it is meant as a negative.  ("Oh, your one of those overprotective parents of an only child.")  But, to me it means I am meeting her needs despite the fact hat she is a "middle" child.  To me that is what parenting is all about.  Sure, I could "make" her go it alone.  But, I want my kids to know I am always there for them.  I want them to know they can rely on me for anything they need.  I want them to have the kind of security that will give them the confidence to try new things and meet new people. 

Homeschooling doesn’t end when we leave the house.  It is more than a curriculum, it is a parenting style. It means I am putting my kids needs before mine when they need me to. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…Parenting is my ministry.  Someday there will be time for a lot of other things.  But for now being Mom is what I do.  If it means I am the other half of the velcro for my daughter, then so be it!

3 Comments

  1. MommaCrystal said,

    I like reading about others with a similar mindset to my own!

  2. CreekerMom said,

    As I often say:
    Mothering is my chosen profession

    or

    Mothering is a profession

    I too love being a Mother and am so blessed to be able to 'mother' my children.

  3. jennybell68 said,

    I actually have an only child and he is like your daughter. I don't feel like I am overprotective though, and no one has ever asked me if he is an only child. I will give him a little extra attention and then say, "you can come home with me and be bored or stay here at AWANA (or whatever) without me and have fun…your choice." He always chooses to stay and after a few times (or ten…lol!) he will not even pause to say good-bye to me. If he acts like this at church, I give him the choice to come with me to the "big" church, but he has only chosen that once (lol…a little too quiet and still for him, I think).

Leave a Reply

