The Wonderful Story of Easter

March 31, 2008 at 9:05 am (Uncategorized)

My 13 year old hates doing anything related to handwriting.  It is almost like it causes him physical pain to hold a pencil in his hand and apply it to paper.  (He never liked to color either.) Through the years we have tried an array of things to make handwriting easier for him.  I finally have resolved that it just isn’t his thing!  Thankfully, he LOVES the creative process of writing.  He likes typing on the computer so I now just let him do most of his writing on the computer.  (Except lapbooks.  He somehow doesn’t mind the handwriting part as much in lapbooks because they are small amounts of writing at a time.)

HOWEVER…Every once in awhile I come across a handwriting project I really want him to do.  When someone sent me the link to The Wonderful Story of Easter project a few weeks ago.  I REALLY wanted my son to do it.  I haven’t asked him to do any handwriting projects for awhile, so he reluctantly agreed.

HERE is the end result of this project:


With one of the booklets opened.

It may not look like a lot of handwriting, but this was a HUGE project for my son.  He labored over it for the better part of two weeks!  (That is why it was not done in time for Easter.)  But, he stuck with it and finished it!  I am estimating he spent about 6 to 8 hours doing the actual handwriting.  I know it sounds ridiculous, but it is SO hard for him!  I am proud of him for sticking it out.  I LOVE the finished project and will be putting it in our family Scrapbook to keep it safe and sound. 

Here is what he wrote inside: (He paraphrased it from the Bible.)

The Last Supper:
During Passover Jesus and the Disciples ate together.  Jesus said to them during dinner. "I tell you the truth, one of you will betray me." They were very sad and began to say to one another "Surely not I Lord?" Jesus replied "The one who has dipped his hand into the bowl will betray me."  Then Judas said "Surely not I Rabbi?" and Jesus said "Yes, it is you." Then Jesus broke the bread and said "This is my body."  Then he took the cup and gave thanks, and offered it to them.  "This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sin."

Gethsemane
Jesus went after dinner to the Mount of Olives , and said to his disciples "Pray that you will not fall into temptation."  Then he went and prayed.  "Father, if  you willing take this cup from me.Not my will, but yours be done."  An angel came and strengthened Him.  And being in anguish he prayed more earnestly, and his sweat was like drops of blood falling to the ground. When he returned the disciples were asleep.  "Why are you sleeping?" he asked.  "Get up and pray so that you will not fall into temptation." Then Judas came and kissed Jesus,  and Jesus was arrested  and they took him away.

Crucifixion
A large number of people followed him including women who mourned and wailed for him.  Two other men, both criminals, were also led out with him to be executed.  When they came to the place called Skull, there they crucified him, along with the criminals – one on his right and the other on his left. Jesus said "Father, forgive them for they do not know what they are doing.  The soldiers also mocked him. They offered him vinegar to drink, and said "If you are the King ot the Jews then save yourself!" There was a written notice above him that read "This is the King of the Jews."  One of the criminals hurled insults at him, "Are you not the Christ?  Sav yourself and us!"  The other said "Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom."  Jesus replied "I tell you he truth today you will be with me in paradise."  Then Jesus cried out in a loud voice "Father into your hands I commit my spirit."  Then he breathed his last.

Resurrection
Three days later, Mary Magdalene went to the tomb and saw that the stone had been removed from the entrance.  So she ran to Simon Peter and said "They have taken the Lord out of the tomb and we don’t know where they have taken him!"  So they went to the tomb and found it empty except for the cloth he had been buried in.  The disciples went, but Mary stayed.  Two angels came and Mary saw Jesus, but she did not recognize him.  He asked her "Woman, why is it you are crying?  Who are you looking for?"  She thought he was a gardener and asked "If you have taken him, tell me where you have put him, so I may go get him." Then he said "Mary" and she replied "Teacher!" and he said "Do not hold on to me, for I have not yet returned to the Father.  Go instead to my brothers and tell them I am returning to my Father and their Father." And she went to the disciples and told them "I have seen the Lord!"


5 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    That is funny. He most likely did more writing on that lapbook than on a report!

  2. JamieD said,

    He did a great job. My 13 yo son is the same way with handwriting. Last year, I gave up and just let him type his stuff on the computer and his imagination is awesome! I was hindering it by forcing him to write everything.

  3. Anonymous said,

    Jack has the same issues with writing and we decided learning typing was a more useful skill for him. Kudos to your son for doing this project!

  4. Anonymous said,

    oops…I am not anonymous. that last comment was from me…

    Melissa
    http://www.melissaomarkham.com

  5. Jimmie said,

    Jamin, I've linked this entry on this page:

    http://www.squidoo.com/lapbooking-vs-notebooking

    It's a great example of how to combine elements of lapbooking and notebooking! And your clothespin entry is going on a spelling page that's in the works.

Leave a Reply

