Unpacking

May 2, 2008 at 8:03 am (Uncategorized)

Last Summer when we were in California visiting friends I noticed a couple of our friends with little kids had placed dishes down low where the kids could reach them.  They both had new houses that had these cool pull out shelves in the lower cabinets.  Ever since I have wanted to get some dishes down low where my 2 Littles can reach them.  I can’t tell you how many times I have had to stop what I am doing just to go had someone a plate!  LOL 

Here is the conversation:

LITTLE- "Mom, can you get me a plate?"

ME – Did you check the dishwasher?" (Hoping there was something clean they could reach. LOL)

LITTLE – "There’s not plate in here.  I need you to get me one."

ME – "grumble, grumble, grumble…" As I stop what I am doing and go to get a plate!

My last house was heavy in upper cabinets and short on lower cabinets.  So I never found a place to put plates down low.  But this house is just the opposite!  YAY!!!

Look how my life has improved!  LOL

The Littles are thrilled.  They are both quite independent and would rather just get a snack or drink themselves.  Plus they are impatient and want things NOW!  (I wonder where these traits come from? LOL)  So here is one improvement over the last house.

Now, I figure a lot of you are wondering what we are doing for school right now.  Much can be clarified by showing you a picture of our schoolroom…
Any more questions?  LOL  The Master Bedroom looks about like this too.  It is nerve-wracking to sleep in there!

Thankfully my 13 year old is happy and learning as long as he has a computer…
It may be messy, but trust me it is CLEANER than the room he left behind.  I am still having nightmares about what we found under this child’s bed!  GROSS!!

The Littles have spent a fair amount of time on Mom’s laptop in the kitchen. 
I am LOVING having a little office in the kitchen.  I can see the family room and I am right next to the (future) schoolroom.  The washer and dryer are right behind me.  It is great!  This area still needs to be organized.  All the cupboards are empty and the counter is full!  LOL  But at least I can more around I don’t have to step over boxes!  The Littles have been spending a lot of time on starfall.com and Webkinz. For right now I am calling that school!  My daughter is really in to teaching her little brother things.  So hopefully she is reviewing and he is learning. (Oh, and my daughter follows me around the house reading to me.)

This is the best looking room of the house!  Obviously I have spent the most time in this room!
The Kitchen and the Littles bedroom were my first priorities.  Their room is coming together pretty well.  I still need to hang things on the wall.  We may need some more shelves for toys too.  We had 2 small playrooms in the old house and even though I got rid of a LOT of toys we STILL have too many!

So there is a look into the MESS that is Jamin’s life!  Hopefully over the weekend my husband and I can get things a little more livable around here!

9 Comments

  1. SchoolinRhome said,

    Have fun moving in and getting organized! Little by little!
    Don't know if you;ll have time but…
    I wanted to let you know that I am hosting my first giveaway over at my blog! It is to celebrate Mother's Day! Stop by and tell me why you are happy to be a mother and you could win an awesome devotional book, a journal and a cooking with kids CD-Rom.
    Enjoy your weekend with your family!
    SchoolinRhome
    Here is the giveaway link:
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/SchoolinRhome/525838/

  2. jenn4him said,

    I moved to my current house a year ago. It took 6 months to feel like this was home and to find the right spot for everything. Since I know that you are a lady with a good handle on reality, I am not worried about your house. It will get there in time. Enjoy being under one roof.
    Blessings,
    Jenn

  3. Suzanne said,

    Would *love* to see the updated "livable look!" πŸ™‚

    My children stopped bugging me about getting a plate or bowl or whatever and discovered that a chair would suffice for them being "altitude-challenged." LOL!

  4. jen at http://homeschoolingjourney.wordpress.com said,

    youll get there
    I LOVE the littles bunk bed

  5. Anonymous said,

    WOW! What a "wonderful mess," You know how great it is being in a new place..so much room! Children are learning some "valuable information'…probably learning that they will call you to get themselves organized when they get older and move! It will take some time however when mom does it …it is ALWAYS better! KUDDOS to you MOM! Like the "Go Fish," song about Mom's…you are doing them ALL and all at once!
    we hope you have a GREAT Mothers Day! God Bless you and your family!
    Love hearing the updates….I feel like family!
    ~the other red head with less experience.. he he πŸ˜‰
    Brooke
    BTW~did I tell you that when i grow up i want to be just like you?…..I am still growing up…turning 40 this year πŸ™‚
    you are the best!

  6. Dana @ School For Us said,

    I love the Littles bedroom. How fun! And, I think Starfall and Webkinz can offer quite a bit of school. πŸ™‚
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  7. barrynmissy1972 said,

    We moved last month! It is so nice to see someone who is going through the same thing I am. I have boxes and more boxes and I will be soooooo glad to get rid of them! ugh! Be encouraged, it will come together soon enough.

  8. kcmyworld said,

    We are in the middle of a major remodel. I can't find anything in our house and I think it will be like this for two more months. With no table space (it's covered with stuff moved from other rooms) we've adjusted what school needs to look like right now.

    I hope to see pictures of your finished school room. We're re-doing ours and I'd love to get some inspiration!

    Robin

  9. Anonymous said,

    I love the pictures of your moving. It reminds me of how I would like to move, but when I think of the actual process, I quickly change my mind…it's amazing how much stuff we end up with in life, isn't it?

    Melissa
    http://www.melissaomarkham.com

Leave a Reply

