Election Lapbook

May 8, 2008 at 10:09 am (Uncategorized)

My oldest son completed his Election Lapbook yesterday. 

Here it is:

Cover
We had a lot of other ideas for the cover, but since the state of our house in currently mayhem, we kept it simple!  LOL

The How To Run A Campaign was my favorite booklet. 
My son had to think though how he would run a campaign answering questions like: How will I be know to the public?, Will I participate in debates?, How can I tell others my ideas?, etc.

In this one I really liked the Donkey and Elephant booklets.  I had never known why the parties were known by those characters.  According to what my son found out that they came from THIS political cartoon in the 1800’s

In the What qualifications do I need to run for office?  It has 3 booklets inside.  One for U.S. Representative, Senator and President.  It is interesting to see the differences in the qualifications.
In Voter’s Registration he learned how to fill out a voter’s registration card.

This is the back.  We made a pocket to include the worksheets he completed from HERE.

One thing that we learned while my son was doing this lapbook is this is the last Presidential election he will be too young to vote in!  YIKES!  I don’t know if I was ready to know that one! 

This is a FREE lapbook.  We found all th printables HERE.

When I was looking for the link to the free lapbook we did I came across another free Election Lapbook too!  HERE is the link to the other one.

11 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    This will also be the last presidential election my oldest will be too young to vote in. It is exciting yet sad all in the same sense.

    Great job on the lapbook and thanks for the links…I think we will be doing something similar this summer.

    Juno
    http://homefrontlines.blogspot.com

  2. Melanie @ NotebookLearning said,

    Thanks for posting a link to the free lapbook I have, as well. It's always nice to see one's work appreciated!

    Melanie
    NotebookLearning.com

  3. msack said,

    I will be teachinga civics class this fall leading up to a mock election event.

    These will be perfect for my teens/ tweens!

  4. Dana @ School For Us said,

    I love this lapbook! We'll be working on it, too, during the summer or early fall. I love seeing one all put together, though. It helps to see what it could look like! šŸ™‚
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  5. LadyPoet33 said,

    I have a friend that sent me your blog. I am SO glad she did!

    I love this!

    LadyPoet33

  6. momx4 said,

    I love looking at your lapbooks!! You are so creative!! I wish that was something I could do. My children love doing lapbooks so thank you for the pictures to give me ideas!!

    Blessings,

    Helena

  7. Lori said,

    I was just wondering about the donkey and elephant the other day, and just happened upon your lapbook (compliments of Jimmie). I was so pleased to see the cartoon, but still didn't get the context. I did a little search, and came up with this article:
    http://www.c-span.org/questions/week174.htm

    Hope you enjoy, and thanks for sharing your lapbook!

    Warmly,
    Lori

  8. Melanie said,

    Hello –

    I just wanted to touch base with you again and let your readers know that I am hosting a contest featuring the Presidential Elections lapbook. You can find all the details here:

    http://www.notebooklearning.com/2008/09/and-here-it-is-lapbooking-contest.html

    Best wishes,
    Melanie
    NotebookLearning.com

  9. Anonymous said,

    We are going to do this lapbook this week! As the election draws near I want my 7 and 10 year old to understand what is going on.

    Thanks!

  10. va_grotenhuis said,

    thanks so much for sharing your homeschool ideas!
    we have had a fun and productive day following your lead regarding election day lapbooks

  11. momofsix said,

    I am so excited to find your blog. I am passing it around because I think it is filled with so many great lapbooks. Thanks so much for sharing these.

Leave a Reply

