The Princess of Pancakes

May 16, 2008 at 10:52 am (Uncategorized)

My daughter LOVES to cook.  She has been begging to take over the pancake making for months now.  I on the other hand don’t like to cook.  This is one thing I would rather NOT do with my kids!  So I am always telling her "One of these days".  Well,  yesterday I finally let her make the pancakes!

Here she is scooping the batter

Waiting to  flip.

Flipping!

The proud Princess of Pancakes!

While on the topic of cooking here is may daughters newest cookbook! 
I found it last weekend on clearance for $4.00.  This is a reprint from the 1950’s version.  She is LOVING it and spends endless hours scouring it’s pages!

Here are her other cookbooks.
The two on the right were mine when I was a kid.  The Mickey Mouse one was a gift to me from a co-worker when I quit work after having my first child.  She knew I hate to cook and thought maybe Mickey would make it more fun!  LOL

This is her favorite
Her Aunt made it for her when she was staying in Houston.  It has all the recipes they cooked together while Dad and I were away packing and moving.  There are blank pages to add future recipes too.

My four year old likes the Mickey Mouse one.  He likes all things Mickey!  (Notice the shirt he is wearing./:^)
My daughter reading all these cookbooks reminds me of my oldest son when he learned to read.  All he cared about was reading the text in video games! He would spend hours reading the little screen of his Gameboy. LOL  I guess that is the key to getting your kids to love reading.  Let them read about what they love!

6 Comments

  1. 4sweetums said,

    I had some of those cookbooks when I was a child. What a nice walk down memory lane.
    Blessings,
    Dawn

  2. Anonymous said,

    BTW there is an American Girl cookbook. My daughter got it for her birthday – We love it! The pancake recipe has a variation – put the batter in a squeeze bottle to make "flower petals" and arrange as a flower on the plate with whipped cream and jelley for the center. I personally like the squeeze bottle idea for letters or other fun shapes!

  3. jen at http://homeschoolingjourney.wordpress.com said,

    well done to your daughter

    my home schooler likes cooking too
    He wants to be a chief

    its a great thing to do be able to do no matter what the future holds

  4. Anonymous said,

    I had that Better Homes one when I was a kid…I'm guessing my mom still has it somewhere…
    Laura
    http://adayinthelifeofamomofsix.blogspot.com/

  5. Dana @ School For Us said,

    I just let my daughter cook pancakes for the first time last week. 🙂 She loves to cook, but I'm usually in too much of a hurry. I need to slow down…
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  6. Anonymous said,

    Tell Pancake PRincess that she can make pancakes for me anytime!

    Melissa
    http://www.melissaomarkham.com

Leave a Reply

