Grandma Clean

May 23, 2008 at 10:57 am (Uncategorized)


My Mom, Sister and Niece are coming to see us this weekend!  YAY!!!!

A few years ago I came across this cartoon that my kids LOVE.  The Dad is telling the kids that they have to clean the house.  The kids want to know how clean.  They ask if it has to be "Operating Room clean."  he shakes his head and says grimly  "No, it needs to be Grandma clean!"  The kids all look faint and run off screaming!  LOL  So ever since whenever my Mom is coming we try and get the house "Grandma clean". 

Since we are still up to our necks with boxes I have already warned Grandma that the house is a wreck and she is just going to have to deal with it.  (My sister even suggested I pile boxes on their beds each morning and then they can’t go to bed until those boxes are unpacked!  I LIKE that idea! )

Yesterday I told the kids we had to clean up.  They looked around with doubtful looks on their faces.  There is no chance of getting the house "Grandma clean" in less than 48 hours!  Then cautiously they asked "Does it have to be Grandma clean?"  I thought for a minute,  looked around and replied "I think this time we may have to settle for Truck Stop bathroom clean!"  ROFL!!! 

The kids LOVED that response!

Sorry Mom! 


3 Comments

  1. hugabunchmom said,

    Ah, for the work of getting the house Grandma Clean, goodness knows it's nice to hear that we aren't the only ones who struggle to accomplish this when the grandparents are going to visit. How funny! I hope they will jump in and help while enjoying the family and that after the visit, you will be stunned at what you have accomplished together. And, that the house will be far cleaner than Truck Stop Restroom clean! Hugs!

  2. Valerie said,

    How cute 🙂

  3. Kelly @ Mama Russell's Blog said,

    Can I just say that your blog is my new favorite blog? I found it via your lapbooking posts and I love the rest of it as well!

    Your post on your fertility journey was precious.

    In His grace,

    Kelly
    http://mamarussellsblog.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

