On The Day She Was Born

June 6, 2008 at 10:46 am (Uncategorized)

Since I shared my homebirth stories a couple of days a go I thought I would share my sons version too.  This was dictated to me by my 6 year old son 2 days after his sister was born at home.



On the day she was born my Mom woke me up and said she was having contractions. It was Sunday, we were suppose to go to church, but we couldn’t because Mom had aches and pains.

All day we were doing stuff.  I was playing Nintendo and sometimes I was watching Mom be in the spa having contractions.  Dad and I read from the Hardy Boys book, I laid in the birthing tub listening with my Spidey blanket, pillow and teddy, while Mom was in the spa.  We made a video.  Later that day my Mom was in the birthing tub and I was scared I wouldn’t be a good big brother.  But now I feel much better.  Mom was having the baby and for awhile I was scared.  I was playing a DVD game.  It didn’t take long for the baby to be born once Mom was in the birthing tub.  When the baby was being born I went into the living room.  My Mom sounded like a dinosaur!  HA,HA, HA!!!! One of the midwives came in the living room and told me the baby was born.  I even got to tell my Mom if it was a boy or girl!!!  It was a GIRL!!  She weighed 9 pounds 6 ounces and a was 21 1/2 inches long.  When I first saw her I knew I loved her.  When she was first born she was a little blue and crying.  My Dad took her and she tried to nurse off of him! I got to examine her placenta, it was disgusting but COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I asked the midwives LOTS of questions.  The they measured her.  I got up and looked at the scale and said :"She weighs a ton!" She was healthy and we were thankful.  I got to dress her for the first time.  That mean it was the first time she had ever been dressed!  I put on her 2 cute little socks and a cute little white outfit.  Now it was time for the midwives to leave.  I was knock-shoo on my Mom and Dad’s bed surrounded by family.  It was a great day and I really liked it!

February 27, 2001

Finally a BIG BROTHER!!!!


I had to laugh when I uploaded this picture.  I don’t ever remember noticing before that he fell asleep that night with one of his school books!  LOL  He also has a red sticker on his nose!  Funny kid!

 

We bought a copy of the book Welcome With Love and pasted his story inside.  We also added pictures from our daughters birth.  My daughter treasures that book and LOVES to read her brothers version of the day she was born.

3 Comments

  1. drewsfamilytx said,

    Oh wow, that is AWESOME!!! I love his version of it! I wish I had thought of getting the kids' POV when my youngest was born. Oh well… they probably don't remember. But I'll ask them tomorrow nonetheless.

    What's a knock-shoo?

    Love,
    Marsha

  2. Robinlyn said,

    That was so precious!!! What a wonderful treasure to have. I really enjoyed reading your birthing story yesterday. My stories are more like your first son's birth so these have been such a blessing to me to read.
    The dinosaur part really cracked me up. It is so funny that he thought that. 🙂

  3. Dana @ School For Us said,

    What an incredible TREASURE that story is! Thanks for sharing it with us,
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

