The Humbling Job of Parenting

June 11, 2008 at 9:51 am (Uncategorized)

Yesterday I took the kids to get haircuts.  Normally I take them and then go back later and get mine done.  But, this time they were having a sale and I didn’t want to miss out on the $10.00 off for my haircut.  So bravely I decided to get mine done while we were there.  We arrived and the place was empty.  (This is a good sign and a benefit of going at 10:30 in the morning!)  They took the 2 boys right away and then a third sytlist shows up and takes my daughter. It was all going well.  You have never seen 3 more well behaved children!  (Keep reading you know what’s coming! LOL)  The boys finish up and it is my turn.  I sit my 4 year old down next to his big brother and he starts asking his big brother how to spell words.  Then he happily writes the word on his paper. My daughter’s hair is finished and she joins the fun.  All the stylist are commenting on how well behaved the kids are.  I thank them and assure them that they do have their moments.  I must admit I was feeling pretty good at this point!  I relax and get my hair done.  At one point my four year old speaks up from across the salon “Mom.”  Yes honey. ” I reply. “  “I love you.”  he says.   I tell you they all start gushing at this point.  Why are your kids so sweet?  Why do they get along so well?  What have you done to have such awesome kids?  I just laugh!

So we finish up.  I pay, they all get lollipops and we leave.  We take one step outside and my four year old announces “I am ready to go to Target and get my toy!”  What????  No one said anything about getting a toy?  I ask him why he thinks he is getting a toy?  He looks at me and says “Because you said we were going to Target and I want one!”  What???  This is NOT how things work at our house! My kids get an allowance and if they want something they have to pay for it.  He knew good and well he had no allowance saved up!  I inform him he is NOT getting a toy!  (Keep in mind all the stylist are for sure watching this through the window!  LOL)  He yells, he stomps his foot he does everything he can think of short of throwing himself on the hot cement and having a full blown fit.  I end up carrying him to the car as he is sobbing in my arms.

I just LOVE being a parent!  LOL

Soooooo….Instead of going to Target and getting groceries,  we head home.  He is asleep pretty much before we left the parking lot.  We get home and he is sent to his room.  The rest of the afternoon  he was not a happy boy.  Sometimes life is like that!

I always joke that I have a theory that any child has a 30% chance of melting down at any given time.  So since I have 3 kids I have a 90% chance of embarrassment every time I leave the house!  LOL  It really isn’t that bad.  Overall my kids rarely melt down.  But, when they do it is always a good reminder to remain humble.  When I see a Mom in a store with a child who is losing his mind I like to smile at her and whisper a prayer for her.  Because I have been there!  No matter how good my kids can be they can also go the other way without a seconds notice!  Most of the time they can recover and move on.  But, sometimes the only thing we can do is go home and hope tomorrow is better. 

Yesterday was one of those days.

 You know the only people who are always sure
about the proper way to raise children?
Those who’ve never had any.

Bill Cosby


 

5 Comments

  1. tn3jcarter said,

    I do believe this is what Todd Wilson calls "Being Real". :O) And I figure if nothing else, it helps those other women to see that even well-behaved children melt down sometimes and maybe it will help them have grace on themselves and their own children when they melt down sometime.

    Great entry!

  2. 4sweetums said,

    So true!
    Blessings,
    Dawn

  3. CandaceC said,

    Jamin, I have been reading your blog for awhile and thought I would de-lurk today and leave a comment! 🙂 I loved your post today! Especially about the 90% part…I have those same chances then I guess, scary! 🙂 I also wanted to say that I love your blog! I originally found you through homeschool share and the TOS newsletter that comes to my email box…I love your lapbooks!! Thanks for sharing with us!

    Candace
    http://www.hismercyisnew.com (my new blog)

  4. Anonymous said,

    Hi Jamin,
    Great post! All so true!
    Reminds me of a great quote: "I used to have 8 theories about childraising and no children. Now I have 8 children and no theories!" 🙂
    Shannon <><
    bruceandshan@sbcglobal.net

  5. Anonymous said,

    Been there, done that…

    Kids…always ready to take us down a peg;)

    Melissa
    http://www.melissaomarkham.com

Leave a Reply

