Let Them Play!

June 23, 2008 at 8:25 am (Uncategorized)

In last weeks The Homeschool Minute Dr. Ruth Beechick says:

"I’m not going to add to the summer fun ideas that is the topic for this week. Instead, I’m going to suggest that you turn off your schooling mindset sometimes this summer. Do things for yourself and let the children do for themselves.

Homeschool kids aren’t usually the ones who say "I’m bored. What can I do?" But if one ever does, he needs to learn how to get unbored without somebody planning all his time for him."

This was so good to hear!  I have been having a lot of guilt lately because I am so busy with trying to unpack, keep up the house, do my work at TOS. I haven’t had a whole lot of time to do things with the kids!  I mean I am here, but I am not entertaining them that is for sure! 

Then last night when we were saying prayers my daughter caught me by surprise! She said "God, thank you that my little brother and I got to play all day in our room and do whatever we wanted!"  WOW! What they had done all day was dress up ALL their stuffed animals and had a wedding!  There was a bride, groom, flower girl, ring bearer, etc and of course all the guests.  I know this because I was the one who got to put on all the shoes and button all the clothes that were chosen for each participant.  (We have a HUGE bag of Build-A-Bear clothing and accessories I found at a thrift store last summer for $6.00!)  They had a blast and literally kept themselves busy for several hours.

I am so glad that my kids can entertain themselves!  I love to do things with them, but knowing how to keep yourself busy and happy is a real life skill!

Thanks again Ruth!

(Oh, and BTW if you don’t get The Homeschool Minute Newsletter you should!  You can subscribe by clicking HERE. )


1 Comment

  1. umanjoelle said,

    Love your blog and could not agree more on that one. Keep up the good work. Joelle

Leave a Reply

