One On One Time

July 1, 2008 at 11:37 am (Uncategorized)

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

Now that the kids and I are back under one roof with Dad I have been trying to have some one on one time with each of them.  During the year that we were apart from Dad I really missed being able to decide to take just one kiddo along with me to the store or to run an errand.  I am always amazed by the conversations we have and the things I learn in the rare moments when I am alone with just one of my kiddos.

Last Friday night I had a "girl’s night" with my daughter.  I was planning on going to a Mom’s Night Out at church and had even bought my ticket on Sunday.  But, then we had a really busy week and the closer it came to the time for me to leave the more my daughter was falling apart.  (Remember she is my velcro child!)  So at the very last moment she asked me not to go and I decided not to.  She still looked sad and droopy and I actually was worried she might be coming down with something.  I decided to run her a bath and just give her some special attention.  Once she was in the bath tub she just started perking right up.  So I asked her if she would like to go out for a "Girl’s Night" with Mom?  I have never seen a happier 7 year old!  We went out for a taco and then to the Dollar Tree.  (We were hunting for scrapbooking supplies!  LOL)  Then we went to Payless and bought us each a pair of sandals.(Buy on get one half off!)  It was nothing extravagant that is for sure!  But, my daughter was just delighted!  We were gone for about 3 hours and when we got home she was a new girl! 

This was such a good reminder to me that as a parent sometimes I can do something that takes so little from me and yet it means the world to my kids.  Even though I am home every day it is so easy to get busy (Especially in the summer when we are not doing a lot of school.) and involved in "Important" things like laundry, cooking, unpacking, organizing, etc.

I know my daughter will be talking about this for a long time.  I am so glad I spent the evening with her instead of going off to have "me time".  I know no one missed me at the church. (We are new, no one knows me!)  But, I certainly made a nice memory with a very special little girl!


4 Comments

  1. Onduli said,

    thanks for posting this. I'm just sitting here realizing that what my ds7 needs is just some special time (since momma has been busy with new baby). This was just the reminder I needed. 🙂

  2. Kelly @ Mama Russell's Blog said,

    You know, this post is something I needed to read especially today. My children are still very young, but they need one-on-one mommy time, too! Thanks for the reminder!

    Kelly
    http://mamarussellsblog.blogspot.com/

  3. umanjoelle said,

    My 2 1/2 son loves to clean as well. I am actually planning to give him a cleaning set for his coming birthday in October so that he can help me clean around the house (can't wait!) It is so great to see how you have all of them helping!

  4. lcourtneymom said,

    Thanks for posting this. I often need the reminder that even though I am home all the time, I am not giving my dc the time and attention they need sometimes!

Leave a Reply

