A New Chore

July 2, 2008 at 9:04 am (Uncategorized)

I have been trying to come up with a good chore for my 4 year old for awhile.  All the kids help with things like cleaning their rooms, picking up, vacuuming and laundry.  But my older 2 also have some set chores they are responsible for every day.  (My 13 year old keeps the kitchen clean, which is a BIG job.  My 7 year old sets the table, cleans off the dishes after each meal and wipes down the table.)  These are chores they are responsible for without being asked. They need to be done before they can play and do other things.  My 4 year old has been wanting his own chore, but no matter what I would think of it was just too hard for him.  Then daddy picked up this little broom and dustpan at the 99 Cent store.  This he can do! 


He is so proud to be contributing!  It is a big help too.  Since both of the little ones like to cut paper there seems to be no end to the scraps that need to be cleaned up.  He doesn’t get every single speck of dust, but it is sure better than me doing it all!

4 Comments

  1. Elinor said,

    Oh how very precious!! My little Sweet-Pea loves cleaning up too. I even posted about it recently…she and I watch that "How clean is your house" show together and it totally inspires her to get cleaning! Kids are so funny sometimes.

    I think you have great chores set up for your children too. Very age appropriate. Do they ever complain about them? My kids have chores, but now and then they'll complain…then again I suppose we adults do at some of the things we have to do as well. = )

    Have a blessed day!
    Elinor

    http://elinorandedward.blogspot.com

  2. Anonymous said,

    My mom is a nurse, and she has always been very health-conscious. She taught us from little on up to do a once-a-week chore of cleaning the Door Handles and Light Switches. You'd be so very surprised at how incredibly dirty and germ-filled they get! Especially in the summer. So have your littles put some old socks on their hands, with the spray bottle in your hand. Spray their socks every once in a while, and go on a Handle Hunt and a Switch Safari. Your family won't get as many colds this way, trust me!

    Bekah

  3. jilly said,

    One chore that my littles did was putting away the clean silverware from the dishwasher. It is good sorting practice for them, and it is a pretty easy job to put it away. We usually take all the knives out first, of course. You might try something like that with him, he may be able to do it! Hope that helps! I do like the Switch Safari idea too!

  4. Anonymous said,

    My 4 year old (Alex) LOVES to sweep. We got her a little broom and dust pan from a montessori shop. Another good chore is dusting with a child size duster, she actually enjoys it. Oh! and lastly, cleaning windows. This is probably more work for you, but she enjoys spraying the watered down windex and wiping with paper towels. Good luck!

    Alycia in Va.
    http://www.thepoweroftwo.typepad.com

Leave a Reply

