Kit Kittredge – American Girl Movie

July 8, 2008 at 7:18 am (Uncategorized)

I am sure you all knew that we were going to go see the new American Girl movie!  My daughter and I have been planning to see it since we saw the first trailer for the movie nearly a year ago.  I must tell you we were not disappointed!


First I must tell you that we had not read the Kit books yet.  The night before we went to see the movie we read ALL of the first book!  But, other than that I we went to the movie just knowing that it was about Kit and took place during the Depression.  I was wondering how a topic as hard to swallow as the Great Depression of the 1930’s would translate into a kids movie.  But I have to tell you they found a good answer!  Tell it from a kid’s perspective! 

I think my kids related to it more than most might. Many of the kids in the movie went through the experience of having their father’s go away to look for work.  Since our family spent all of 2007 apart from dad because of his new job and our house not selling.  My kids really could empathize with what was happening.  We talked a lot after the movie about how lucky we were when we were separated from Dad that we had cell phones so we could call him at a moments notice and airplanes so he could come home a few days each month.  We all know how hard it still was for us!  I can’t even imagine what these families went through in the 1930’s.

As much as I enjoyed the movie it was also a little scary to watch as a parent.  I mean with gas hovering around $4.00 a gallon the economy seems to be spinning out of control!  While I pray that our family has been through the worst of the hard financial times we will experience, I could not help but feel the burden the parents 1930’s must have gone through. 

All in all, it made me feel more than ever that all we can do is have faith in God to get us through the hard times.  God provided for us in so many ways when my husband unexpectedly lost his job at the end of 2006.  It is awesome and humbling to look back and see the ways His hand was always there.  He was always making sure we were provided for, even if sometimes it didn’t seem like things were going the way I wanted!

So, if you want to see a good movie about the Depression I would highly recommend Kit Kittredge.  Not only was it entertaining but it was also very thought provoking.  That is a GOOD movie in my book!

Normal
0

false
false
false

EN-US
X-NONE
X-NONE

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-priority:99;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin-top:0in;
mso-para-margin-right:0in;
mso-para-margin-bottom:10.0pt;
mso-para-margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

You might also want to check out the Kit Kittredge website my daughter has been having a great time playing there!


2 Comments

  1. Dana @ School For Us said,

    We're planning on seeing this next week. Thanks for the great review. And, I bet your family could relate! Again, I'm glad you're all together now. 🙂
    Dana, http://www.alexml.blogspot.com

  2. mamaduso said,

    We loved the movie too!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

