Decorated Body Cast

July 17, 2008 at 10:58 am (Uncategorized)

Yesterday my daughter and I finally got around to decorating one of the pregnant body casts we had made when I was pregnant.  I had posted about it a few weeks ago and then a couple days ago we were at a friend’s house and we were talking about it.  That led to us looking up casts other people had made (Which led to a LOT of laughing when our teenage sons entered the room!  LOL)  and I finally got inspired to finish mine.  So…

Here is was undecorated.One of the main reasons I wanted to decorate it was because we had used 2 different packages of the plaster gauze material and you could tell the difference between the 2 packages once it dried.

And here it is completed!What we did was Mod Podge pearl colored tissue paper over the whole cast.  This not only fixed the color problem, but it made it more durable. Then we cut out tissue butterflies from a package of napkins I had bought at the grocery store.  We picked a butterfly to represent each member the family.  The 3 on the stomach are the 3 kids and the other 2 are mom and dad. 

These are the supplies we used. (It cost a total of $11.87 to decorate.)

 This is a close up of one of the 2 velum quotes I put on it.  It says "I still get butterflies."  I just loved that because I do still get butterflies thinking about the fact that God actually blessed me to have THREE wonderful children!  It also reminds me of that wonderful butterfly feeling you get when you first feel them moving inside

The little tiny butterfly next to the writing I chose to represent our first baby which we lost in the 5th month of pregnancy in 1991.

This is a close up of the other quote I chose. It says "Two people who belong together, make a world."I am very happy with how it turned out.  I know it isn’t the fanciest one out there, but it suits me fine.  Here are a few of the sites where I got inspiration.  We saw everything there from beautiful to hysterically funny!  (Especially when the teen boys entered the room!) LOL (BTW, most of these folks were less "modest" than me and didn’t cover with their arms.  So view at your own risk!)

http://www.rockabelly.co.uk/gallerycolourbelly.html
http://www.artisticbodycasting.com/gallery.htm
http://tinyurl.com/639zqk

By the way, if you want to make your own cast you can find the instructions here:

http://www.ehow.com/how_2362798_make-pregnant-belly-cast.html 

I did not buy a kit to make mine.  We just bought the plaster impregnated gauze at the art supply store. (It was about $5.00 a roll and we used 2 rolls for a full torso cast. The kits are $30.00 to $50.00. YIKES!)

Here is a site I found where you can get the gauze for $1.29 plus shipping! http://www.suppliescentral.net/plaster_bandages.html

Oh, and if you ever decide to put a cast on your child’s arm for affliction night at Awana with this, you may have to go to the E.R and get it removed.  LOL This is the real deal plaster gauze that they use in casts for broken limbs.

<!– /* Font Definitions */ @font-face {font-family:"Cambria Math"; panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:roman; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:-1610611985 1107304683 0 0 159 0;} @font-face {font-family:Calibri; panose-1:2 15 5 2 2 2 4 3 2 4; mso-font-charset:0; mso-generic-font-family:swiss; mso-font-pitch:variable; mso-font-signature:-1610611985 1073750139 0 0 159 0;} /* Style Definitions */ p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal {mso-style-unhide:no; mso-style-qformat:yes; mso-style-parent:""; margin-top:0in; margin-right:0in; margin-bottom:10.0pt; margin-left:0in; line-height:115%; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:11.0pt; font-family:"Calibri","sans-serif"; mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri; mso-ascii-them

Leave a Reply

