Nim's Island Movie

August 7, 2008 at 8:57 am (Uncategorized)

My favorite way to watch a movie is when I know nothing about it before I see it.  Yesterday the kids and I rented Nim’s Island and it fell into the category of "movies I knew nothing about."  I don’t now how I missed the advertising and trailers.  My kids sure knew about it!  LOL  I am thinking maybe it came out in April/May when we were in the middle of moving and I was just too busy to be in touch with the world?

Anyway, we LOVED this movie so much we watched it FOUR TIMES in the same day!  LOL (The first time it was just the kids and mom, then we watched it with BOTH versions of the commentaries and then we watched it again with dad when he got home from work! Don’t worry I was doing laundry, folding clothes, mopping the floors and doing other housework while I watched!  LOL  I also got some good snuggle time in with the littles.)

So what did we love so much that we watched it four times?  Well, for one thing in the first few minutes of the show you find out that the main character is homeschooled!  LOL But, actually that is only part of what I loved about it.  The characters were wonderful and SO full of lessons. Although there are really very few characters, there are several plots happening at the same time.  (Interesting?)  The  difficult situations that arose brought the best out of the characters.  They go outside their own comfort zones to connect with each other.  Each of them put their own wants and needs aside to help each other. 

This movie was a great opportunity for us to discuss what could happen if we let our worries and anxieties control us.  The movie shows the vast difference between people who are taking risks and living life to the fullest and someone taking no risks and not really living at all!  It was easy to see which life was the one a person would want to live!

One of my favorite lines from the movie is:

"I don’t want to touch the world.  It’s not sanitary!"

LOL  How many times have we all felt that way?  Where would our world be if there were not missionaries, soldiers and adventurers out there willing to face the world head on and change it?  Even those of us who stay close to home have the opportunity to change the lives of others every time we leave the house.  (Of course if we are parents we can change the world from home too!)  But, we have to "get over ourselves" deal with our issues and make the best with what God gave us.

This was such a good movie I just wanted to tell you all to see it!  I don’t want to give too much away since for me part of the fun was the surprise of not knowing anything about it.

If anyone watches it more than 4 times in one day please let me know!  I would love to find someone else out there that is as CrAzY as me! LOL



7 Comments

  1. LindaBotkin said,

    I have not seen this movie, and honestly had no desire to until I read your post! This sounds a lot like what I've been dealing with. As a homeschooling mom, I often feel "stuck" at home. I believe I've actually developed a phobia about interacting with other people. I find myself craving "adventure", but am too afraid to go out and experience it. I feel like this goes right along with what I was reading this morning for my quiet time: The Isrealites were about to enter the promised land after chickening out 40 years ago. Moses repeatedly tells them not to be afraid. Deut. 31:6 "Be Strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified…for the Lord your God goes with you, He will never leave you nor forsake you."

    I pray that God will give us the courage we need to live the life of adventure He has called us to!

    ~Linda~

  2. JamieD said,

    My soon-to-be 14 yo son loved this movie. He said it had everything he loved in a movie. I have to say some of the action scenes were very intense – in a good way.
    I love that line, too!
    She wasn't homeschooled, she was island schooled – LOL – how wonderful would that be?!?
    This is a great movie to add to your family collection – Thanks for writing about it!

  3. elastigirl said,

    A friend invited my four children and me to watch Nim's Island while it was in movie theatres. I honestly did not expect it to be good but I soon changed my mind when I found out the main character was homeschooled! I did not like the way homeschoolers were portrayed in the movie "Horton Hears A Who" but this movie turned out to be very good. I didn't know it was already out on DVD though. I'm going to have to make a trip to the store to get it!

  4. mom24seas said,

    We watched the movie tonight with all the family. Looks like there will be another one later maybe?

  5. barrynmissy1972 said,

    I mentioned this movie to my husband and he said he hadn't seen it, then my daughter comes in and says she hasn't seen it either- hint! Well, right now we just got to the part when she doesn't want to touch the world…lol. I hadn't read your entire post and was upstairs and I heard the girl say she was homeschooled and I yelled out, "Did she say she was homeschooled?!?!" My husband said, "I knew you would hear that!"
    Thanks for the movie night!

  6. eclecticeducation said,

    I LOVE… LOVE… LOVE… this movie!!! I watch most things that Walden Media puts out and love them, but this one was even better than the others. FYI… the little girl who is the star of the movie is in the new American Girl movie, Kit Kittridge.

  7. Robin said,

    Only twice in one night here!! I guess we are only 1/2 crazy!! It was the first thing the kids asked to do as soon as we walked in the door from church today! Love it!

Leave a Reply

