More Beads!

August 12, 2008 at 10:23 pm (Uncategorized)

Here is my daughter and my latest project.

Here is the watch by itself.

I bought my watch face at a Cracker Barrel restaurant.  But, you can also find them here:

http://www.whohasthetime.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWCATS&Category=193

I thought those of you who had emailed me that you wanted your kids to learn how to bead to make gifts would appreciate this.  These would be great to make for grandma, aunts, teen cousins, sunday school teachers, awana leaders, etc.

While I am showing off beading projects…

Here is a bracelet I made my mom over the weekend.  She had a necklace and earrings already that match this and wanted the bracelet.
I really wasn’t going to get into beading!  LOL  This was suppose to be something for my daughter to do.  But, it’s just so FUN!  This one was a challenge because there are 2 strands and they are connected by the flat rectangle beads.  The pink beads are all different sizes so I had to try to match the approx. sizes of the beads in the 2 strands.  I had to re-do it 3 times!  LOL  But, I do like how it came out and my mom likes it too! 

It MUST be good for my brain too!  LOL

Here is my daughters very first necklace she has designed! 
She is so funny.  She wakes up in the morning, get’s dressed and then makes something to match her outfit to wear!  LOL  It’s every girls dream! 

5 Comments

  1. Suzanne said,

    I've enjoyed your blog, we homeschool and have 4. Not the easiest job in the world, but quite worth it. I love the idea of jewlery making, but have always had a great intimidation of this art. Those are some little holes! We will have to give it a try, I'm sure my 2nd artsy girl would love this.

  2. Elinor said,

    Wow, you are amazing! I like making jewelry, but when it comes to putting on the clasps and other findings, I get them all messed up. How on earth do you keep the beads tight without a space between them and the clasp? What do you use to hold the beads? Elastic? Wire? Oh I wish you could teach me!!! Your pieces are gorgeous!!!!

    Elinor
    http://elinorandedward.blogspot.com

  3. Anonymous said,

    Nice job. I've seen these watch kits at craft stores like Michaels and the likes. I love how yours turned out.
    Abi
    http://www.homesteadblogger.com/teaching4Him/

  4. elastigirl said,

    Your daughter is doing a very good job with the beads! My daughters and I also make our own jewelry. And I agree it is very addictive! LOL. Maybe your daughter should have her own blog sharing her creations and jewelry how-to.

  5. Anonymous said,

    Love the Watch, and your blog is great! I enjoy seeing what you and your kids are up to, and have dreams of homeschooling our boys (though I think my hubby would faint). Really love the watch!
    A.L. Travis
    http://www.altravis.webs.com
    http://www.miannacabana.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

