Rain Painting

August 21, 2008 at 10:27 am (Uncategorized)

After living in the desert for 4 years rain is still a exciting concept to my kids!  So when it rains we all have to run out front on the covered porch and watch.  Since my rent-a-kid was here visiting we were all extra excited about the rain!  So I decided we needed to do some rain painting!  I know, only I could come up with a craft that includes rain! LOL

Here are the kids out watching the rain.

Thinking about getting wet!

Rain painting & rain dancing!  LOL

Finished product

So what is rain painting?  Just put a few drops of food coloring on a paper plate. Hold the plate out in the rain to add some water and let it splatter.  Then set your creation aside to dry.

Voila!

A quick, easy, creative art experiment!  You can’t do that in the desert! LOL

5 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    I love this idea! My 2 year old is afraid of the rain, I wonder if she'd like this???

    Love your blog, keep up the good work!

    April
    http://thehundfamily.blogspot.com/

    P.S. My only son is only 3 months old…I can't wait to get my own rent-a-kid!

  2. Anonymous said,

    I grew up in Florida, and while rain was normal, snow was something that existed on television… I still get that same look your kids have in the pictures, after living with some snow for nearly 10 winters now (we don't get too much here!)!
    I really enjoy your blog!
    A.L. Travis
    Author of The Pillar of Light, The Legends of Milana series
    http://www.altravis.webs.com

  3. venus said,

    Love your blog. Rain painting looked fun. Next time you can also try markers (not sharpies) and coffee filters. We did this when I used to teach.

  4. kaenhu said,

    A much better idea than what I usually do (complain about the rain)!

  5. Anonymous said,

    My husband and I did Little Lambs in our church yesterday. The story was Noah and our southern skies were threatening rain most of the day. I sent home a sheet telling parents they could remind their kids of Noah, the flood, and the rainbow by "painting with rain." Thanks for such a great idea!

    Alli for crumleyblog.com

Leave a Reply

