More on Turning 14!

August 29, 2008 at 2:45 pm (Uncategorized)

So this morning when my 14 year old woke up I had a treasure hunt all set up for him.  We started this "tradition" last year when we had to celebrate the actual day of his birthday without Dad.  (Dad was 1200 miles away at his new job and the rest of us hadn’t moved yet.)  I didn’t want to give him his gifts without Dad being there. (Dad was there for his party, not his actual b-day.) So I came up with the idea of a treasure hunt.  Well, all 4 kids (including my rent-a-kid) LOVED the idea and we have done a birthday treasure hunt for ALL of their birthdays since.  (Including my rent-a-kid.)

So here is my BIG 14 year old finding his first clue this morning. (Yes, he still LOVES his blankey!  LOL  Another privilege of being homeschooled.  You can still be a blanket boy at 14 and no on teases you! LOL)

Reading the first clue.

Finding his first treausre
There are 14 treasures, one for each year of his life.  I won’t make you see pictures of them all!

Okay, you just have to look at one more…
My rent-a-kids in this one, you can’t miss this one!

Here are all my kids posing with the bounty of treaures found in the hunt!

My favorite of the treasures I got for him was this framed picture of him and my rent-a-kid.  (aka: his best friend.) 
I of course got one for my rent-a-kid and me too!  LOL

My rent-a-kid is leaving tomorrow.  :^(  It has been a blast having him here and we CANNOT WAIT until he comes back!  But, I know we will all be sad to say goodbye to him tomorrow.  How blessed we are that he got to come and be here to celebrate my oldest sons B-day!  That was an awesome gift!

Oh, one more thing.  This morning after he opened all his goodies we went out to breakfast.  After breakfast we were walking to the car and my 14 year old was holding my hand.  I said to him "So, now that your 14 you’re not too old to hold my hand in public?"  And he leaned over and said "Mom, I’ll never be too old to hold your hand."  Ahhhh….I told you he was a great kid!

5 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    my name is jenn, and i came via marsha's blog (so very heartbreaking. 😦 ) but i had to come by to say hi, because i have a little boy named jamin. how funny is that?
    God bless,
    jenn
    busybeingblessed.com

  2. HopeRumpca said,

    Dear Jamin,
    You are so very blessed to have such a wonderful son! I must say though, I know he did not come out of the womb like that so you and dear hubbie must take at least a stitch of responsibility for his terrific attitudes! <grin> I know you are proud of him and your love shines from you with every letter you type.

    God Bless!
    ~Hope Edited by HopeRumpca on Aug. 30, 2008 at 9:32 AM

  3. diamondsintherough said,

    Please, please tell me where to find your link for oodles of free worksheets. I saw this link on several people's blogs, but did I save it? Noooo. And now I am desperate! Thank you!
    Sally

  4. Anonymous said,

    My son had slept with the same blanket from the time he was 2yo. He moved out at 21yo and I was surprised that he left it here.

    The proof that he's a smart kid: he knew I'd keep it safe for him, but wasn't sure how much he could trust his new roommies to do the same!

    It's still here, nearly 2 years later. When he visits he reminds me to keep it safe for him!

    He homescooled for 6 years 🙂

  5. Anonymous said,

    Jamin, that is so precious that your son holds your hand. I just wanted to say thank you for sharing these sweet stories and things you do with/for your 14 year old. You make me not dread the teen years quite so much…you give me hope that it doesn't have to be all bad!! 🙂

    Candace
    http://www.hismercyisnew.com

Leave a Reply

